Title Biography for LEY, the Hon. Sussan Penelope
Database Biographies
Date 09-06-2022 05:34 AM
Source Parliamentary Library
Current member Yes
State NSW
Electorate Farrer
System Id handbook/allmps/00AMN

LEY, the Hon. Sussan PenelopeBiography for LEY, the Hon. Sussan Penelope

Member for Farrer (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Farrer, New South Wales, 2001. Re-elected 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019 and 2022.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Family and Community Services (Children and Youth Affairs) from 26.10.2004 to 27.1.2006.

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 27.1.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Assistant Minister for Education from 18.9.2013 to 23.12.2014.

Minister for Health from 23.12.2014 to 19.7.2016.

Cabinet Minister from 23.12.2014 to 24.1.2017.

Minister for Sport from 23.12.2014 to 13.1.2017.

Minister for Aged Care from 30.9.2015 to 19.7.2016.

Minister for Health and Aged Care from 19.7.2016 to 13.1.2017.

Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.

Minister for the Environment from 29.5.2019 to 23.5.2022.

Cabinet Minister from 29.5.2019 to 23.5.2022.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund from 5.12.2002 to 31.8.2004; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 25.9.2008 to 3.2.2010; Law Enforcement (formerly National Crime Authority from 15.6.1984 to 1.1.2003 and Australian Crime Commission from 1.1.2003 to 24.11.2010) from 25.9.2008 to 3.2.2010; Public Accounts and Audit from 3.2.2010 to 19.7.2010; Public Accounts and Audit from 6.2.2018 to 13.8.2018.

Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 20.3.2002 to 5.12.2002; National Broadband Network from 22.3.2011 to 5.8.2013; National Broadband Network from 9.2.2017 to 11.9.2018 (Chair from 9.2.2017 to 11.9.2018); National Capital and External Territories from 9.2.2017 to 1.7.2019; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 6.2.2018 to 1.7.2019.

Joint Select: Government Procurement from 9.2.2017 to 29.6.2017; Constitutional Recognition Relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2018) from 27.3.2018 to 28.8.2018.

House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004; Transport and Regional Services from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 11.3.2008 to 10.11.2008; Economics from 10.2.2010 to 19.7.2010; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 9.2.2017 to 7.2.2018; Indigenous Affairs from 13.8.2018 to 11.9.2018.

House of Representatives Select: Address in Reply from 12.2.2002 to 13.2.2002.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party from 30.5.2022.

Shadow Minister for Housing from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Shadow Minister for the Status of Women from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Shadow Minister for Justice and Customs from 22.9.2008 to 8.12.2009.

Shadow Assistant Treasurer from 8.12.2009 to 14.9.2010.

Shadow Minister for Employment Participation from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.

Shadow Minister for Childcare and Early Childhood from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.

Shadow Minister for Women from 5.6.2022.

Shadow Minister for Industry, Skills and Training from 5.6.2022.

Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 5.6.2022.

Shadow Minister for Small and Family Business from 5.6.2022.

Party Positions

Member of the Liberal Party Tallangatta Branch from 1994 to 2001.

Member of the Liberal Party (NSW) from 2001.


Born 14.12.1961, Kano, Nigeria

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

MAcc (Charles Sturt University).

BEc (La Trobe University).

MTax (University of New South Wales).

Air traffic controller from 1983 to 1985.

Commercial pilot from 1985 to 1986.

Shearers' cook from 1986 to 1988.

Wool and beef farmer from 1988 to 2001.

Director of Technical Training at the Australian Taxation Office from 1995 to 2001.


Name: Farrer

Location: Farrer covers an area in southern New South Wales stretching along the Murray River from the Shire Councils of Greater Hume and Narrandera in the east to the South Australian border in the west and the Shire Councils of Wentworth, Balranald, Hay and Carrathool in the north. Farrer is made up of the local government areas of Albury, Balranald, Berrigan, Carrathool, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Murrumbidgee, Leeton, Murray River, Edward River, Federation, Narrandera, and Wentworth.

Area: 126,590 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 115,525 (at 13.6.2019)

Industries: Throughout the electorate you will find many agricultural industries, including large-scale irrigation farming in the Murrumbidgee and Murray River regions, producing cotton, rice, irrigated cereals, dairy products, wool, fat lambs and cattle as well as citrus, grapes (table grapes and wine grapes) and vegetables. A wide variety of employment opportunities exist in the public and private sectors, rural and regional industries, education and hospitality. Farrer is a popular tourist destination, with lifestyles and landscapes rich in culture and the arts.