Title Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Legislation Committee
Database Estimates Committees
Date 25-03-2021
Committee Name Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Legislation Committee
Page 5
System Id committees/estimate/0cc7fe55-035d-4bfd-aa07-044df889d14f/0001

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Legislation Committee - 25/03/2021 - Estimates - FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND TRADE PORTFOLIO


In Attendance

Senator Duniam, Assistant Minister for Industry Development

Senator Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Minister for Women

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Frances Adamson, Secretary

Mr Murali Venugopal, Chief Finance Officer

Ms Jo Talbot, Chief People Officer

Mr Simon Newnham, Chief Legal Officer

Ms Minoli Perera, Chief Security Officer

Mr Mathew Smorhun, Chief Information Officer

Dr Jennifer Gordon, Chief Economist

Ms Alison Burrows, Chief Negotiator, Australia-EU Free Trade Agreement

Mr Ravi Kewalram, Acting Chief Trade Law Officer

Ms Lynette Wood, First Assistant Secretary, Consular and Crisis Management Division

Ms Elly Lawson, First Assistant Secretary, East Asia Division

Ms Danielle Heinecke, First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Operations and Development Division

Mr Gerald Thomson, First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Bilateral Division

Ms Elizabeth Peak, First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Strategy Division

Dr Angela Macdonald, First Assistant Secretary, Global Counter Terrorism, Middle East and Africa Division

Mr Craig Chittick, First Assistant Secretary, US and Indo-Pacific Division

Mr Jamie Isbister, First Assistant Secretary, Economic Growth and Sustainability Division and Ambassador for the Environment

Mr Ridwaan Jadwat, First Assistant Secretary, Southeast Asia Division

Ms Frances Lisson, First Assistant Secretary, COVID-19 Coordination Unit

Ms Helen Stylianou, First Assistant Secretary, Trade Investment and Business Engagement Division

Ms Beth Delaney, First Assistant Secretary, Contracting and Aid Management Division

Mr John Geering, First Assistant Secretary, Europe and Latin America Division

Ms Mary Balzary, First Assistant Secretary, Executive Division

Mr James Baxter, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Trade Negotiations

Mr James Gilling, First Assistant Secretary, Humanitarian NGOs and Partnerships Division

Ms Amanda Gorely, First Assistant Secretary, International Security Division and Ambassador for Arms Control and Counter-Proliferation

Mr Rod Hilton, First Assistant Secretary, Human Development and Governance Division

Dr Justin Lee, First Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Policy Division

Mr Gary Cowan, First Assistant Secretary, North and South Asia Division

Ms Elisabeth Bowes, First Assistant Secretary, Regional Trade Agreements Division

Ms Suzanne Pitson, Executive Director, Overseas Property Office and Services

Ms Bridget Brill, Executive Director, Australian Passports Office

Ms Michaela Browning, Chief Executive Officer, National Foundation for Australia-China Relations

Mr Robin Davies, Head, Indo-Pacific Centre for Health Security

Dr Tobias Feakin, Ambassador for Cyber Affairs and Critical Technology

Ms Lucienne Manton, Ambassador for People Smuggling and Human Trafficking

Ms Julie-Ann Guivarra, Ambassador for Gender Equality

Ms Stephanie Williams, Ambassador for Regional Health Security

Mr Ian McConville, Assistant Secretary, Protocol Branch

Mr Michael Growder, Assistant Secretary, Trade Investment and Business Engagement Division

Ms Lisa Wright, Assistant Secretary, Scholarships and Alumni Branch


Mr Tim Beresford, Acting Chief Executive Officer

Ms Kelly Ralston, Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Digital Services and Outreach

Ms Sally-Ann Watts, Acting Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Global Client Services

Ms Christie Sawczuk, General Manager, Visitor Economy Taskforce

Mr Rob Donelly, Chief Operating Officer, Corporate Services Division

Mr Ken Wedgwood, Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services Division

Ms Lynne Ashpole, Acting General Manager, Government Division

Mr Jay Meek, Acting General Manager, High Growth Export Services Division

Mr Dom Bilbie, Head of Client Programs

Tourism Australia

Outcome 1

Ms Phillipa (Pip) Harrison, Managing Director

Mr Mark Craig, Executive General Manager, Corporate Services

Mr Bede Fennell, Executive General Manager, Corporate Affairs

Ms Victoria Maigre, General Manager, Government Relations

Ms Elisa Jakymin, Government Relations Stakeholder and Policy Manager

Ms Caroline Denyer, Corporate Affairs Project Manager

Committee met at 09:03

CHAIR ( Senator Abetz ): I declare open this additional estimates 2020-21 hearing of the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Legislation Committee. Today the committee will examine the Foreign Affairs and Trade portfolio as set out on the circulated program.

The committee is due to report to the Senate on 20 April 2021 and has set Friday 7 May 2021 as the date for the return of responses to questions taken on notice. Information on procedural rules governing the estimates hearings and claims of public interest immunity has been provided to departments and agencies and is available from the secretariat. Senators, departments and agencies have been provided with advice on the arrangements in place to ensure the hearings are conducted in a safe environment. This guidance is also available from the secretariat. The committee appreciates the cooperation of all attendees in adhering to these arrangements. Mobile phones should be switched off or turned to silent.