Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Launch of first university presence in Mount Gambier.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


3 March, 2005 MIN 1057/05

Educational opportunities in regional South Australia have been boosted with today’s launch of the first university presence for the Mount Gambier region.

The Australian Government has committed funding of around $2 million over the next four years for 40 undergraduate places at the University of South Australia’s Learning Centre in Mount Gambier, growing to 108 places by 2008.

From 2005 the University will offer 10 places each in the disciplines of General Nursing, Business Management, Counselling and Computer Programming. These places are part of the 9,100 new Commonwealth supported places which the Australian Government allocated to universities in 2004.

The new centre will increase the available skilled workforce of the region. For example, General Nursing students will gain their clinical practice at Mount Gambier hospital and contribute to the health service of the region.

The four full undergraduate degree courses will be delivered at TAFE SA Mount Gambier campus in a close cooperative arrangement with the University. Students will study with the University via supported distance education, using the TAFE facilities for tutorials and workshops. Staff from both the University and TAFE SA will be involved in teaching.

The places will provide the opportunity for students in the Mount Gambier region to access undergraduate education without having to leave home. This will particularly benefit mature age students and those seeking to upgrade their qualifications.

This funding commitment to Mount Gambier recognises the unique contribution made by regional higher education providers and campuses to their local communities and to students from rural and regional areas.

As part of the Australian Government’s $2.6 billion higher education reform package, more than $146 million will be provided directly to universities to recognise the unique contribution made by regional higher education institutions and campuses to their local communities and to students from rural and regional areas.

Media Contacts: Dr Nelson’s Office: Yaron Finkelstein 0414 927 663 Dept of Education, Science & Training: Jenni Hudson 02 6240 7732