Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Federal politicians support racial tolerance.

Download WordDownload Word





Trevor Boucher AO


Racial Respect Inc




Only one Federal politician has not fully supported the five principles on racial tolerance in a survey conducted by Racial Respect, the national organisation that promotes cultural diversity.


Preliminary results of the survey, which went to all sitting Federal MPs and Senators, were released today by ACT President of RR, Mr Trevor Boucher.


Mr Boucher said almost half the 224 politicians had responded: only one had not given full assent to RR's five Principles - the Member for Oxley, Pauline Hanson.


"Overall, it is very heartening that so many politicians responded promptly, and responded in a positive and encouraging manner to RR's request to endorse our principles of mutual respect and equality," Mr Boucher said.


"However, the fact that one MP chose to qualify some responses and could not support all the principles is a matter of regret.


"RR's aim is to see Australia continue to develop towards being a nation where people of every race, culture and religion live in mutual respect and equality.


"For that to be achieved requires positive leadership from our politicians."


"Ms Hanson's response indicates that while she recognises the disadvantage suffered by Indigenous Australians, she appears not to accept that specific action is required to address this profound disadvantage.


"Also disappointingly, Ms Hanson could not accept the RR principle that 'We must maintain the policy of multiculturalism and an immigration policy which is on-discriminatory.'


"RR's principles are simple and inter-connected. We have a clearly defined aim that we believe articulates the aspirations of most Australians, and which is based on an acceptance of those principles."


Mr Boucher said RR would proceed with the second phase of its survey - contacting all candidates across Australia - once the coming election was announced and candidates nominated. He hoped that those serving Members and Senators who have yet to respond will do so by then.


Mr Boucher noted that the RR survey dovetailed with the recently announced Racewatch initiative, the joint Community Aid Abroad/B'nai Brith Anti-Defamation Commission project to monitor racially based comments by candidates during the election campaign.


Reports of candidates playing the 'race card', once verified, will be passed to a panel, consisting of Ms Irene Moss AO, Justice Marcus Einfeld and Mr Boucher, to determine whether the statements can be legitimately judged as racially inflammatory. The panel's reports will be issued publicly.


Attached are the RR Principles, a list of politicians who responded positively to the RR survey and a copy of Ms Hanson's response. The survey results, including any additional comments made by respondents, will be available on the Racial Respect home page ( from 16 August 98.


The Racial Respect survey is supported by:


The Australian Catholic Welfare Commission

Australian Council for Overseas Aid

Australian Council of Social Services

Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation

Australian Youth Policy and Action Coalition

Baptist Union of Australia

Brotherhood of St Laurence

Community Aid Abroad

Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia Inc

N ational Women's Justice Coalition

Uniting Church in Australia

World Vision

Bishop Richard Randerson, Assistant Anglican Bishop of Canberra/Goulburn


Release Date: 16 August 98

Enquiries: Graham Wright 02 6254 3893 or 018 623 929




Racial Respect Inc

GPO Box 506

Canberra City  ACT  2601




Member/Senator State Electorate Party


Abbott The Hon. Anthony John Tony  NSW Warringah NSW LP

Ablanese Mr Anthony Norman NSW Grayndler NSW ALP

Alston The Hon. Richard Vic. Senator LP

Andren Mr Peter James NSW Calare NSW Ind

Andrews Mr Kevin James Vic. Menzies VIC LP

Barresi Mr Phillip Anthony Vic. Deakin VIC LP

Bartlett Mr Kerry Joseph NSW Macquarie NSW LP

Bourne Vicki NSW Senator AD

Bradford Mr John Walter Qld McPherson QLD CDP

Brough Mr Malcolm Thomas Mal  Qld Longman QLD LP

Brown The Hon. Robert James Bob  NSW Charlton NSW ALP

Calvert Paul Tas.  Senator LP

Cameron Mr Eoin Harrap WA Stirling WA LP

Campbell Mr Graeme WA Kalgoorlie WA Ind

Charles Mr Robert Edwin Bob  Vic.  La Trobe VIC LP

Coonan Helen NSW Senator LP

Cooney Barney Vic. Senator ALP

Crean The Hon. Simon Findlay Vic. Hotham VIC ALP

Crosio The Hon. Janice Ann, MBE NSW Prospect NSW ALP

Dargavel Mr Steven John ACT Fraser ACT ALP

Denman Kay Tas. Senator ALP

Dondas AM, The Hon . Nicholas Manuel NT Northern Territory CLP

Ellis Ms Annette Louise ACT Namadgi ACT ALP

Evans Christopher WA Senator ALP

Evans Martyn John SA Bonython SA ALP

Ferguson Alan SA Senator LP

Ferguson Mr Martin John, AM Vic. Batman VIC ALP

Gallus Mrs Christine Ann SA Hindmarsh SA LP

Georgiou Mr Petro Vic. Kooyong VIC LP

Gibbs Brenda Qld Senator ALP

Hardgrave Mr Gary Douglas Qld  Moreton QLD LP

Hill The Hon. Robert SA Senator LP

Hockey Mr Joseph Benedict Joe  NSW North Sydney NSW LP

Hollis Mr Colin NSW Throsby NSW ALP

Jeanes Ms Susan Barbara SA Kingston SA LP

Johnston Mrs Ricky WA Canning WA LP

Jull The Hon. David Francis Qld Fadden QLD LP

Kelly Miss Jacqueline Marie J ackie  NSW Lindsay NSW LP

Kemp The Hon. Dr David Alistair Vic. Goldstein VIC LP

Kemp The Hon. Rod Vic. Senator LP

Kerr The Hon. Duncan James Colquhoun Tas. Denison TAS ALP

Knowles Susan WA Senator LP

Latham Mr Mark William NSW Warriwa NSW ALP

Lawrence The Hon. Dr Carmen Mary WA Fremantle WA ALP

Lee The Hon. Michael John NSW Dobell NSW ALP

Lees Meg SA Senator AD

Lundy Kate ACT Senator ALP

Macdonald Ian Qld Senator LP

Mackay Sue Tas. Senator ALP

Machlin Ms Jennifer Louise Jenny  Vic. Jagajaga VIC ALP

Marek Mr Paul Qld Capricornia QLD NPA

McClelland Mr Robert Bruce NSW Barton NSW ALP

McDougall Mr Graeme Robert Qld Griffith QLD LP

McKiernan Jim WA Senator ALP

McLeay The Hon. Leo Boyce NSW Watson NSW ALP

McMullan The Hon. Robert Francis Bob  ACT Canberra ACT ALP

Melham Mr Daryl NSW Banks NSW ALP

Miles The Hon. Christopher Gordon Tas. Braddon TAS LP

Minchin The Hon. Nicholas SA Senator LP

Morris The Hon. Peter Frederick NSW Shortland NSW ALP

Moylan The Hon. Judith Eleanor Judi  WA Pearce WA LP

Nairn Mr Gary Roy NSW Eden-Monaro NSW LP

Neal Belinda NSW Senator ALP

Nelson Dr Brendan John NSW Bradfield NSW LP

Newman The Hon. Jocelyn Tas. Senator LP

Nugent Mr Peter Edeard Vic. Aston VIC LP

O’Connor Mr Gavan Michael Vic. Corio VIC ALP

O’Keefe The Hon. Neil Patrick Vic. Burke VIC ALP

Payne Marise NSW Senator LP

Price The Hon. Leo Spurway Roger  NSW Chifley NSW ALP

Pyne Mr Christopher Maurice SA Sturt SA LP

Randall Mr Donald James Don  WA Swan WA LP

Reid The Hon. Margaret ACT Senator LP

Reith The Hon. Peter Keaston Vic. Flinders VIC LP

Reynolds The Hon. Margaret Qld Senator ALP

Ronaldson The Hon. Michael John Clyde Vic. Ballarat VIC LP

Ruddock The Hon. Philip Maxwell NSW Berowra NSW LP

Sawford Mr Rodney Weston SA Port Adelaide SA ALP

Sercombe Mr Robert Charles Grant Bob  Vic. Maribyrnong VIC ALP

Sharpe The Hon. John Randall NSW Hume NSW NPA

Stott Despoja Natasha SA Senator AD

Sullivan The Hon. Kathryn Jean Martin Qld Moncrieff QLD LP


Tambling The Hon. Grant NT Senator CLP

Tanner Mr Lindsay James Vic. Melbourne VIC ALP

Theophanous The Hon. Dr Andrew Vic. Calwell VIC ALP


Troeth The Hon. Judith Vic. Senator LP

Vaile The Hon. Mark Anthony James NSW Lyne NSW NPA

Vanstone The Hon. Amanda SA Senator LP

Wakelin Mr Barry Hugh SA Grey SA LP

West Mrs Andrea Gail Qld Bowman QLD LP

Williams AM, QC, The Hon. Daryl WA Tangney WA LP


Willis The Hon. Ralph Vic. Gellibrand VIC ALP

Wilton Mr Gregory Stuart Vic Isaacs VIC ALP

Worth The Hon. Patricia Mary Trish  SA Adelaide SA LP