Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Expanded funding for rural and remote schools.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Federal Member for Wannon

Hamilton Office 190 Gray St, HAMILTON VIC 3300 Warrnambool Office 73 Kepler St WARRNAMBOOL VIC 3280 Freecall 1300 131 692 E W

1 August 2007


Federal Member for Wannon, David Hawker, today announced the Australian Government is providing additional funding over four years to support nine Western Victorian rural non-government schools.

“The Government recognises the higher cost of delivering schooling in our rural regions, and the negative impact this can have on student achievement levels,” Mr Hawker said.

“This important funding means our local schools can direct expenditure to key areas such as attracting quality teachers, increasing staff retention, extending IT facilities or improving teacher access to professional development.

“Assisting students in these nine schools across Western Victoria, this funding will help improve quality, ensure greater consistency, and help those students falling behind in the fundamental areas of literacy and numeracy,” he said.

Mr Hawker said the next schools funding agreement will require the state government to provide an equivalent increase in funding for regional and rural government schools from 2009.

“Investing in young Australians in our region will ensure we reinforce and strengthen the educational outcomes we want from all students,” Mr Hawker said.

Local schools to receive additional funding:

• Sacred Heart Primary School (Casterton) • St Coleman’s School (Mortlake) • St Joseph’s School (Coleraine) • St Joseph’s School (Penshurst) • St John’s Lutheran Primary School (Portland) • Tarrington Lutheran School (Tarrington) • Good Shepherd College (Hamilton) • Bayview College (Portland) • All Saints Parish School (Portland South)

- ENDS -

Media contact: Jane Templeton (03) 5572 1100