Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Truss announces 2002 rural scholarship winners.

Download PDFDownload PDF


AFFA01/317WT 5 December 2001


Truss announces 2002 rural scholarship winners

NSW cotton farmer Robin Logan has won this year's Rural Women’s Scholarship to the Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP), and Western Australian station manager Robert Watson has won this year’s Rural Indigenous Scholarship to the ARLP, the Federal Agriculture Minister, Warren Truss, announced today.

Ms Logan is a partner in the Oakville Station near Narrabri in the north west of NSW, and also a business manager with the Cotton R&D Corporation. Oakville is the first cotton farm in the world to achieve ISO 14000 accreditation for environmental management.

Mr Watson manages the Mt Anderson Station near Fitzroy Crossing in the north west of Western Australia, and is also Deputy Chair of the Kimberley Aboriginal Pastoral Association.

Mr Truss said the scholarships, which are sponsored the Federal Coalition Government’s FarmBis program, will allow Ms Logan and Mr Watson to participate in the prestigious ARLP.

“The ARLP is a two-year, part-time course that helps rural men and women who are leaders in their industries or communities, to improve their professional and personal skills," he said. “The participants examine national and international issues and get to meet and talk with industry, government and community leaders here and overseas.”

Mr Truss said the Rural Women’s Scholarship has been awarded each year since 1999.

President of the Foundation for Australian Agricultural Women, Val Lang, was the inaugural winner. Merna Curnow, a member of the Victorian Farmer’s Federation Grains Council and the Women in Grains group was the 2000 winner, while Yvonne Smith, an executive member of the Onion Industry Association, and President of the South Australian Farmers’ Federation Lower Murray Horticultural Branch, was last year’s winner.

The Indigenous Scholarship is a part of AFFA’s Indigenous Action Plan, which aims to increase awareness by indigenous people of the department’s programs, ways they can put in place on-the-ground actions and to also improve awareness among AFFA staff of issues relevant to indigenous Australians.

Mr Truss congratulated Ms Logan and Mr Watson on their success.

“They have demonstrated a strong commitment to making important, long-term contributions to their particular industries and Australian agriculture in general,” he said, "and I wish them an enjoyable and rewarding experience with the ARLP.”

Mr Truss said the scholarships would begin at the start of the next program in April 2002.

Minister's office: Andrew Hall (02) 6277 7520 or 0419 996 766

The Hon Warren Truss MP Media Office | Media Releases | Speeches

HOME | About AFFA | Media releases | Publications | Events | Ministers | Legislation | Subscription | Forms | NEWS | Hot topics | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Feedback


Last updated 5 December 2001

URL: Commonwealth of Australia 2000