Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Research Quality Framework Panel Chairs announced.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Centre

Media Release

Research Quality Framework Panel Chairs Announced

17 April 2007

The Minister for Education, Science and Training, the Hon Julie Bishop MP, today announced the Assessment Panel Chairs for the Research Quality Framework (RQF) - the Australian Government’s innovative model for assessing and funding research.

The Assessment Panel Chairs are senior researchers of international standing who will guide the work of the panels in their judgements on the quality and impact of research. These decisions will be based on sound, transparent and accountable processes.

Panel Chairs will also provide policy and strategic advice prior to the assessment period.

“We are fortunate to have such prominent people willing to provide their time and expertise, not only in the area of assessment, but also in developing guidance to deal with the variety of discipline issues,” Minister Bishop said.

“The work of the RQF will be vital in seeking to recognise and reward the highest quality Australian university research which delivers real benefits to the whole community.”

The Minister announced the Australian Government’s decision to implement the RQF in November last year in a move that will restructure the current quantitative-based research funding scheme to a process of expert review which relies on assessors of international standing and representatives of the end-users of that research.

The Australian Government has provided $87.3 million to implement the RQF.

A list of the RQF Assessment Panel Chairs is available from:

Media Contacts: Minister Bishop’s Office: Tory Vidler 0414 228 727

Dept of Education, Science & Training: Media 02 6240 7300

Non-media 1300 363 079