Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Reference group and expert panel for $7.2m aged care review.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release Kevin Andrews Minister for Ageing

KA 101/2002 Wednesday November 13, 2002


AN Industry and Consumer Reference Group has been established for the $7.2 million pricing review of the residential aged care sector, Federal Minister for Ageing Kevin Andrews announced today.

The Review is being conducted by one of Australia's most respected economists, Professor Warren Hogan, and is examining long-term financing options for residential aged care.

"The Federal Government made an election commitment last year that it would conduct a pricing review and $7.2 million was allocated in the 2002-03 Budget to ensure it is done properly," Mr Andrews said.

"I have appointed an Industry and Consumer Reference Group, comprising a diverse group of providers, consumer representatives and aged care workforce representatives, to help Prof Hogan. (See Attachment)

"The group will provide a sounding board of diverse opinion and experience in the residential aged care sector."

A smaller Expert and Technical Advisory Group has also been appointed for Prof Hogan to seek specialist advice. It comprises experts in business management, financing and workforce issues. (See Attachment)

"Together, these groups will give Professor Hogan access to a tremendous depth of experience, opinion and expertise," Mr Andrews said.

The Review will be calling for written submissions in the near future and Prof Hogan will be holding consultations in major cities and several regional centres next year.

The Review's recommendations will be presented to Minister Andrews by the end of 2003.

Industry and Consumer Reference Group

David Deans - Chief Executive, National Seniors Association

Irene Gibbons - Chief Executive, Carers Australia

Betty Johnson - President, Pensioners and Superannuants Federation

Glenn Rees - National Executive Director, Alzheimers Association Australia

David Angell - Chief Executive Officer, Blue Care

Peter Bowman - General Manager, Australian Nursing Homes and Extended Care Association (NSW) Corporate Services.

Brian Dooley - General Manager, Our Lady of Consolation Aged Care Service

Rodney Greene - Manager, Emerton Park Hostel

Ian Hardy - Chief Executive Officer, Helping Hand

June Heinrich - Chief Executive Officer, Baptist Community Services

Nancy Hogan - Chief Executive Officer, Jewish Care (Victoria)

Stephen Judd - Chief Executive Officer, Hammond Care

Dr John Leaper - Chairman, TLC Aged Care

Bryan Lipmann - Chief Executive Officer, Wintringham

Kevin Moss - Managing Director, Omega Australia

Sharon Davis - NT Regional Manager, Uniting Church Frontier Services

Ron Thompson - Chief Executive Officer, RSL Veterans Retirement Village

Jim Toohey - Chief Executive Officer, Tricare

David Vaux - Chairman, Amity Group

Paul Wilmot - Chief Executive Officer, Anglican Homes

Chris Puckey - Manager Aged Care Policy and Analysis, Victorian Department of Human Services

Sally Garratt - Royal College of Nursing

Craig Thomson - National Secretary, Health Services Union of Australia

Jill Iliffe - Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing Federation

Expert and Technical Advisory Group

Alan Bansemer - Former WA Commissioner for Health

Diane Gibson - Head of the Welfare Division, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Richard Gray - Director Aged Care Services, Catholic Health Australia

Prof Hal Kendig - Dean of Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Sydney

Dr Michael Fine - Senior Lecturer Department of Sociology, Macquarie University

The Hon Jim Longley - Head of Government Finance, Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Prof John McCallum - Dean of College of Social and Health Sciences, University of Western Sydney

Robert Livy - Management Accountant, Lee & Partners

James Underwood - Director, James Underwood and Associates

Peter Vaughan - Chief Executive Officer, South Australian Employers' Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Nick Morris - Chief Executive, Tasman Economics

Hugh Sarjeant - Director, Cumpston Sarjeant

Media Contact: Felicity Dargan (Press Secretary) 0409 550 446