Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Appointment of Honorary Consul: Lae

The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator Gareth Evans, today announced the appointment of Mr Philip Franklin as Honorary Consul for Australia in Lae, Papua New Guinea.

Mr Franklin is an Australian businessman, a long-term resident of Papua New Guinea, who has been active in business and community affairs in Lae for several years. He is currently Director and Manager of Reckitt & Colman (PNG) Pty Ltd and held the position of President of the Lae Chamber of Commerce and Industry between 1990-1993.

Mr Franklin will assist Australians in Morobe Province by conducting passport interviews, as well as by answering general consular and immigration enquiries. In co-operation with the Australian High Commission in Port Moresby, Mr Franklin will provide assistance to visiting Australian Members of Parliament, Parliamentary delegations, trade delegations and business people.

The Honorary Consul in Lae has an important role to play in advancing Australia's interests in the area, particularly in the areas of trade and investment opportunities", Senator Evans said.

The address of the Australian Consulate in Lae will be:

c/- Reckitt & Colman(PNG)Pty Ltd Postal Address: P.O. Box 1004

IPI Building Lae




Telephone: 422055 (Business Hours)

421026 (After Hours)

Fax: 421 028

Further information: Susan Thomson, Consular Policy Section, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Telephone Canberra

261 2940