Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Telstra Business Women's Awards.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Press Release

MARISE PAYNE Senator for New South Wales

Telstra Business Women's Awards

24 September 2005

Liberal Senator for New South Wales, Marise Payne, today congratulated the New South Wales winners of the Telstra Business Women's Awards 2005, Professor Julie Steele, Elise Pascoe, Deborah Homewood and Belinda Smith.

Attending the awards ceremony on behalf of the Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources, the Hon Ian Macfarlane MP, Senator Payne delivered a short speech and presented the Australian Government Private and Corporate Sector Award.

"Since the awards began 11 years ago this celebrated program has proudly honoured women whose commitment, achievements, sacrifice and vision have made them leaders in their respective fields," Senator Payne said

Over the past 11 years, the Telstra Business Women's Awards have become an essential part of the Australian business calendar, celebrating the diversity of achievements of some truly remarkable women. Past winners include some of Australia's most talented business leaders, whose career paths and individual achievements continue to inspire business people all over Australia to bigger and better things.

"As a staunch believer in equal opportunity for women it pleases me immensely to see so many women in the workplace and achieving so many great things in Australia today," Senator Payne said.