Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Forest and Wood Products R&D Corporation appointments.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Forest and Wood Products R&D Corporation appointments

DAFF06/029A 1 May 2006

Three new Directors have been appointed to the Board of the Forest and Wood Products R&D Corporation (FWPRDC), the Australian Minister for Fisheries, Forestry and Conservation, Senator Eric Abetz, announced today.

Senator Abetz said that the new Directors — Kathryn Adams, Ron Adams and Dr Sadanandan Nambiar — would join returning Directors Peter Zed, David Hunter and Ken Last for three-year terms ending 4 May 2009.

The Board’s Chair is Thorry Gunnersen AM, and the Government Director is Tony Bartlett.

“The Corporation’s main role is to invest in R&D within Australia’s forest and wood products industry to help ensure it remains competitive — here and overseas,” Senator Abetz said.

“And that’s vital if we are to protect forestry jobs — particularly those supporting communities in regional and rural areas — and continue to reduce our reliance on imports.”

The FWPRDC’s full list of Directors is:

• Kathryn Adams, an experienced member of science-based boards, and former Executive Director of the FWPRDC. She also Chaired the Tobacco R&D Corporation and was on the Board of the Cotton R&D Corporation

• Ron Adams, Managing Director of Wespine Industries Pty Ltd WA. He has extensive understanding of the hardwood, softwood, and plantation sectors, and is considered a highly qualified and respected member of the industry

• Sadanandan Nambiar, an Honorary Fellow with CSIRO, following three years as the Chief Research Scientist and Science Director of CSIRO’s Forestry and Forest Products Division. He brings expertise in the areas of sustained productivity and managing plantations, trees for rehabilitating degraded land, managing productivity and environmental stress and developing codes of practice

• Peter Zed, Group General Manager of Operations for Weyerhaeuser Australia and an expert in soft wood processing. He has already served one term on the FWPRDC Board as Deputy Chair

• David Hunter, a Board member of the FWPRDC for nine months, he was previously a Senior Executive with the global consulting firm Accenture. He brings a wealth of experience in business and commercial matters

• Ken Last, has served one term on the FWPRDC Board. He has extensive experience in the hardwood and saw milling sector, and has held positions with a number of companies, including Neville Smith Timber Industries and Gunns Ltd.

Minister Abetz thanked the outgoing FWPRDC Board Directors — Diana Gibbs, Diane Tregoning and Mark Smith — for their important contributions.

Further inquiries:

Senator Abetz’s office: Brad Stansfield 0419 884 666