Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
University of Canberra wins national award.

Download WordDownload Word



Media Release

The Hon Dr David Kemp, MP

Minister for Education, Training, and Youth Affairs




23 November, 1998


The University of Canberra’s success in supporting international students’ studies was tonight recognised as part of the prestigious 1998 Australian Awards for University Teaching, presented by the Minister for Education, Training and Youth Affairs, Dr David Kemp.

The university was joint winner of the Award for Support of the Special Needs of International Students. The other winner in the Institutional Award category was the University of Melbourne.

The Award was presented at a special ceremony at Parliament House. Both Universities will receive a grant of $50,000.

The Awards were established to celebrate excellence in university teaching and to promote innovative and practical approaches to the provision of student services.

"Canberra University provides a model of co-ordinated welfare services for international students," said Dr Kemp.

"The approach ensures that no matter what faculty a student is in, they can get information and advice ranging from a special web-based newsletter to lecturers who understand some of the cultural issues they face during their studies.

"Research shows that the performance of international students has improved significantly since the introduction of this program."

Eleven individual teaching Awards were also presented during the ceremony. The Australian University Teacher of the Year was won by 33 year-old Ms Angela Carbone from Monash University in Victoria, an assistant lecturer in computing science. The University of Canberra’s Dr Joanne Beaver was a finalist in the individual teaching category for Science.

Local student Ms Victoria Crapper from the Australian National University was a member of the Awards’ committee.

"While the standard of teaching and support services in Australian universities is high, this year’s winners and finalists represent the very best Australia has to offer," said Dr Kemp.

"They reflect the best practice approach that the Government wants to encourage in all teachers and universities for the benefit of all students.

"The Government is committed to providing the highest possible standard of education across all areas of university life and is proud the Awards have been so wholeheartedly embraced by universities around Australia."

  • Winners and Finalists
  • Institutional Awards

Media contact for winners : Frances Dart 0412 008 801

Media contact for Dr Kemp: Samantha Herron 02 6277 7460 or 0412 639 754