Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Building healthy school communities in Richmond

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media release


NSW Nationals Senator Fiona Nash is encouraging school organisations to apply for Federal Coalition Government grants aimed at promoting healthy eating in the school environment.

In the past year, a total of 26 school organisations throughout Richmond have each received a Healthy School Communities grant of $1,500 to help establish projects which help parents and children develop healthy eating habits.

“The Coalition Government is enlisting school organisations to help in the fight against childhood obesity which has grown at an alarming rate in recent times,” Senator Nash said.

“The funding is thanks to the Coalition Government’s $15 million Healthy School Communities Program, which is part of the $116 million Building a Healthy Active Australia initiative which includes a number of television ad campaigns promoting healthy eating and the benefits of physical activity.”

Senator Nash said schools are using the grants to fund a variety of activities, from the purchase of healthy eating resources for curriculum based activities to buying fresh fruit and vegetables for healthy school snacks and developing and maintaining school vegetable gardens.

“It’s so important for everyone to be mindful of good nutrition and the benefits of regular exercise, so if we can instil this mindset in our children at a young age, this will help build a strong foundation for the long-term health of future generations.”

Schools in Richmond who have received a $1,500 grant include:

• Bilambil Public School • Byron Bay High School • Centaur Public School • Condong Public School • Coorabell Public School • Eureka Public School • Lennox Head Public School • Murwillumbah East Public School • Murwillumbah High School • Newrybar Public School • The Pocket Public School

• Tumbulgum Public School • Tweed Heads South Public School • Tweed River High School • Tyalgum Public School • Uki Public School • Wilsons Creek Public School • Byron Community Primary School • Holy Family Catholic Primary School • Lakeside Christian College • Mount St Patrick Primary School • Mullumbimby Seventh Day Adventist School • Murwillumbah Christian College • St Finbarr’s Primary School • St James Primary School • St Joseph’s College

Grant applications and information on the Healthy School Communities grant offer are available from

For more information on the activities each individual school is undertaking as part of the initiative, please phone the contact below.

Media contact: Julie Siegert 0429 818 600