Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Honouring Australian schools and teachers.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Centre

Media Release

Honouring Australian schools and teachers

14 June 2006

The 2007 National Awards for Quality Schooling (NAQS), which celebrate excellence in Australian schools, were launched today by the Minister for Education, Science and Training, the Hon Julie Bishop MP.

“These important annual Awards are designed to recognise and reward the outstanding work of our schools, which make such a positive difference to the lives of young Australians,” said Minister Bishop.

Nominations are open to government and non-government schools, and staff at pre-primary, primary and secondary levels.

For The 2007 Awards, there will be more than 60 awards in seven categories, and the Australian Government will contribute more than $1 million in prizes. The award categories are:

1. Excellence by a Teacher 2. Excellence in Teacher Leadership 3. Excellence by a Beginning Teacher 4. Excellence by a Principal 5. Excellence by a Support Staff Member 6. Excellence in School Improvement 7. Excellence in Family-School Partnerships

“For the first time excellence by beginning teachers, teacher leaders and family-school partnerships will be recognised. I will also present a Medal of Distinction to one of the Best National Achievement winners,” said Minister Bishop.

“The new categories reflect the importance of families and schools working together. They also have a strong focus on the future by acknowledging the important roles and contributions of beginning teachers and teacher leaders.

“I am pleased the profession, through Teaching Australia, is taking a lead role in the organisation of the NAQS. It is a significant

achievement to be nominated for one of these awards. It shows the high esteem in which schools and members of the teaching profession are held by the Australian community.”

The Award application guidelines are available at:

Media Contacts: Minister Bishop’s Office: Murray Hansen 0417 886 155 Dept of Education, Science & Training: Laila Lacis 02 6240 9275

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement