Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Defence Safety Awards announced.

Download PDFDownload PDF

MEDIA RELEASE The Hon. Bruce Billson, MP Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence MINASSIST 015/2006 Wednesday, 10 May 2006 DEFENCE SAFETY AWARDS ANNOUNCED Defence military and civilian personnel would continue to benefit from individual and group efforts to improve occupational health and safety in the workplace, Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence Bruce Billson said today after announcing the winning recipients of the 2006 Defence Safety Awards. “The Defence Safety Awards are an important part of Defence’s aim to be an organisational leader in occupational health and safety and an employer of choice,” Mr Billson said. “The Awards also underscore the significant role that each and every person has to play in improving safety in the workplace. “The Safety Awards give peer recognition to individual Defence military and civilian personnel, workgroups and divisions for their outstanding efforts, innovation and commitment to improving occupational health and safety policy, practices and procedures within the wider Defence organisation. “The Awards are in four categories, which attract outright winners or commendations. I join the Chief of the Defence Force and the Secretary of the Defence Department in congratulating the recipients of these Defence Safety Awards for 2006: Category 1—Best Workplace Health and Safety Management System Commendation presented to Navy Safety Systems staff. Category 2—Best Solution to an Identified Workplace Health and Safety Issue Winning award presented to HMAS Anzac ship’s company for its ‘Portable Pontoon’ initiative. Commendation presented to the Defence Science and Technology Organisation for its ‘Safety Culture Improvement Program’. Commendation presented to the Air Force’s Air Lift Group for its ‘Working at Heights’ policy. Category 3—Best Workplace Health and Safety Practices at Unit/Branch Level Winning award presented to the staff of Navy’s Fleet Intermediate Maintenance Activity - Perth. Commendation presented to HMAS Stuart ship’s company. Commendation presented to Air Force’s No 3 Squadron.

MEDIA RELEASE The Hon. Bruce Billson, MP Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence Category 4—Best Individual Contribution to Health and Safety Wining award presented to Mr Rodney O’Connor of the F-111 Engines Business Unit, Defence Materiel Organisation. Commendation presented to Colonel Brett Billett, for the Army Heat Injury Remediation Program. Commendation presented to Squadron Leader Darryl Stokes, for the implementation of the Working at Heights policy at Air Lift Group. “This year’s round of Safety Awards attracted 27 submissions from across Defence and all those who took the time to detail the excellent occupational health and safety programs being undertaken in their workplaces should be equally congratulated. “The Defence Safety Awards’ winners will compete nationally with other agencies at the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission 2006 Awards in July. On behalf of the Australian Government, I wish Defence personnel every success at those awards.” Mr Billson said. More information about Defence’s occupational health and safety programs is available at: Media information: Shane Fairlie 0408 680 442 Defence Media Liaison (02) 6265 3343 or 0408 498 664