Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Recognition for outstanding scientists.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Federal Member for Wannon

Hamilton Office 190 Gray St, HAMILTON VIC 3300 Warrnambool Office 73 Kepler St WARRNAMBOOL VIC 3280 Freecall 1300 131 692 E W

March 27, 2008


Western Victorian scientists could share in $500,000 as part of a national search to recognise people who have made significant contributions or achievements in the field.

Federal member for Wannon David Hawker said nominations are now open for the 2008 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science, which are offered to Australian citizens or those who hold permanent residence status in Australia.

“These prizes provide the opportunity for Australia as a national community to acknowledge those men and women who excel in their fields - be they the traditional, mathematics-based sciences, life sciences or science teachers,” Mr Hawker said.

Western Victorians can nominate a scientist, whom is known to them for an award in one of five categories - the $300,000 Prize for Science, the $50,000 Prizes for Life Scientist of the Year and Physical Scientist of the Year; the $50,000 Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools and the $50,000 Prize for Science Teaching in Primary Schools.

“I am sure there are brilliant scientists in our region whose work is worthy of nomination for these prestigious awards,” Mr Hawker said.

The Prime Minister’s Prize for Science is for an outstanding specific achievement or series of related achievements in the physical, chemical, biological and technological sciences, mathematics and engineering. The Prize may be awarded to an individual or jointly to up to four individuals.

The Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year and the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year are awarded to two scientists at an early stage of their research careers, whose outstanding achievements are advancing, or have the potential to advance human welfare or society. To be eligible in 2008, Nominees must have completed their PhD within the past 10 years i.e. the date of their testamur must be after 8 May 1998.

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary and in Secondary Schools recognise two teachers who have made outstanding contributions to science education in Australia. Nominees for these Prizes should be on the staff of a school and active in science education at the time of their nomination.

Nominations are open until Friday 9 May 2008. For further information, eligibility criteria and nomination forms contact Mr Hawker’s electorate office or visit


Media Contact Mieka Symes 03 5561 6405