Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
New Tradestart Office for Mildura.

Download PDFDownload PDF

John Forrest, MP Federal Member for Mallee

New Tradestart Office for Mildura 2 November 2001

Businesses in the Sunraysia and Murray Valley regions will have access to more help getting into the massive export market with the Coalition's commitment today for a new local TradeStart Office for Mildura made by John Forrest, National Party Member for Mallee.

Mr Forrest said, "The new TradeStart office will assist local industries such as horticulture, viticulture and manufacturing into exporting for the first time.

"Potential exporters in the Mallee and including Mildura and Swan Hill will have access to this service. This will complement the service that Horsham currently receives out of the Ballarat Tradestart office.

"Regional Australia accounts for more than half of the nation's total exports. One in four jobs in regional Australia depend on exports and last year exporters earned Australia $153 billion, yet only 4% of all Australian companies export.

"The Coalition is committed to helping Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) into the lucrative export market by bringing the expertise and specialist advice of TradeStart's dedicated project managers to Sunraysia and the Murray Valley.

"The new office will help reach the Coalition goal of doubling the number of exporters over the next five years.

"The new TradeStart office will help bring greater wealth and expertise to the region. Recent research shows exporters pay their staff on average $17,400 more than non-exporters, provide safer, healthier workplaces and better use new technologies."

"The Mildura office is one of ten new TradeStart offices that will be opened under a returned Coalition Government, taking the total to 34 offices around the country. This Government is committed to providing services to small business in regional Australia."

TradeStart offices are currently located in Coffs Harbour, Tamworth, Gosford, Bathurst, Nowra, Wagga Wagga (NSW); Wangaratta, Bendigo and Ballarat (Vic); Albany, Carnarvon, Kununurra and Geraldton (WA); Cairns, Rockhampton, Bundaberg, Southport and Toowoomba (Qld); Berri, Mount Gambier and Whyalla (SA); Darwin and Alice Springs (NT) and Launceston (TAS).