Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Alfred Deakin Institute to be established at Deakin University.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Centre

Joint Media Release


3 August 2006

The Treasurer, Peter Costello and the Minister for Education, Science and Training, Julie Bishop, announced today, on the 150th anniversary of the birth of the nation’s second Prime Minister Alfred Deakin, that the Australian Government would make a contribution of $4 million in 2006/07 towards the establishment of an Alfred Deakin Institute at Deakin University in Geelong.

The Alfred Deakin Institute will house the Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library, which will serve as a repository for Deakin University’s collection of Alfred Deakin’s books, papers and memorabilia and the provision of a centre for the advancement of teaching and research leadership in areas such as political science, public policy and governance, international relations and globalisation, journalism and communication. The Library will be open to the general public.

The Alfred Deakin Institute will be located at Deakin University’s Geelong Waterfront campus, at the Dennys Lascelles Building. The Waterfront Campus is evolving from the successful redevelopment of disused woolstores which Deakin University acquired in 1993.

Next year, Deakin University will also receive funding of $2 million (allocated in 2004) from the Capital Development Pool Programme for the redevelopment of the Dennys Lascelles Building to accommodate the Health Precinct which will provide a focal point for students and researchers in nursing, occupational therapy and a proposed new course in physiotherapy.

Alfred Deakin Alfred Deakin was born on 3 August 1856 in Fitzroy, Melbourne. From 1887 to 1900 he was a prominent figure in the movement for Federation and became Victoria’s most prominent representative at Federal Conferences and Conventions that led to the development of an Australian Constitution. Deakin subsequently became Australia’s first Attorney General and Leader of the House. He later become our second Prime Minister and served three terms (1903-04, 1905-08 and 1909-10).

Media Contacts: Treasurer’s Office: Renae Stoikos 0418 568 434 Minister Bishop’s Office: Murray Hansen 0417 886 155