Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
55 Queensland local councils now share $415M in advance disaster funding

Download PDFDownload PDF

55 Queensland local councils now share $415M in advance disaster funding Friday, May 27, 2011 DAFF11/166LJ

Joint media release Senator the Hon. Joe Ludwig, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry The Honourable Anna Bligh, Premier and Minister for Reconstruction

Two Far North West Queensland councils will receive $4.5 million, this means 55 councils now sharing $415 million in advance disaster funding, Premier Anna Bligh and Federal Minister Assisting the Attorney-General on Queensland Floods Recovery, Senator Joe Ludwig announced today.

“Our initial aim was to have $400 million in council bank accounts by 1 July and with five weeks to go we have 55 disaster-hit local economies benefiting from $415 million with more to come," said Ms Bligh.

“And today’s seventh tranche shows that the Queensland Reconstruction Authority continues to assess and release funding as quickly as possible.

“Councils, not listed as yet, need not be concerned as there will be advance moneys available for them too,” she said.

The Authority is using, for the first time, a new process, to accelerate the flow of reconstruction dollars back into impacted communities.

Minister Ludwig said that up to 75% of these costs were being met by the Commonwealth under the Natural Disaster Recovery and Relief Arrangements with the States.

“I am pleased to see payments flowing to two councils in the far north west of the state. This shows in a geographic sense, just how large the disaster zone has been.

“It might be a long way from Burketown to Brisbane, but that does not mean they have been forgotten.

“This is an unprecedented response. The Commonwealth and State will continue to work closely together to assist Queenslanders in need,” he said.

More than 80 per cent of this money will go towards reconstructing our massive road network - the lifeblood of our State.

The total damage bill for councils is likely to top $2 billion.

The additional councils announced today (27 May 2011) are:

Grant Advances to Local Governments

1. Richmond Shire Council - $382,608 2. Burke Shire Council - $4.1M

Already announced

3. Barcoo Shire Council - $772,200 4. Isaac Regional Council - $3.7M 5. Bulloo Shire Council - $828,000 6. Carpentaria Shire Council- $4.5M 7. Maranoa Regional Council - $851,760 8. Murweh Shire Council - $620,649 9. Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council - $203,130 10. Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council - $890,640 11. Southern Downs Regional Council - $13.2M 12. Cairns Regional Council - $5.9M 13. Croydon Shire Council $2.7M 14. Hinchinbrook Shire Council - $17M 15. Hope Vale Shire Council $712,000 16. McKinlay Shire Council - $936,000 17. Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council $1.4M 18. Redland City Council $849,000 19. Rockhampton Regional Council - $18.6M 20. Scenic Rim Regional Council - $6.1M 21. Sunshine Coast Regional Council - $693,00 22. Western Downs Regional Council - $13M 23. Winton Shire Council - $2.2M 24. Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council - $309.000 25. Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council - $2.1M 26. Balonne Shire Council - $4.1M 27. Banana Shire Council - $7.2M 28. Barcaldine Regional Council - 2.1M 29. Bundaberg Regional Council - $7.1M 30. Central Highlands Regional Council - $13.2M 31. Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council - $80,586 32. Cloncurry Shire Council - $1M 33. Cook Shire Council - $3.6M 34. Gladstone Regional Council - $18.3M 35. Ipswich City Council - $20.7M 36. Toowoomba Regional Council - $15.4M 37. Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council - $323,460 38. Blackall—Tambo Regional Council - $2.9M 39. Brisbane City Council - $54M 40. Burdekin Shire Council - $1.7M 41. Cassowary Coast regional - $19.9M 42. Etheridge Shire Council (Georgetown) - $2.7M 43. Fraser Coast Regional Council - $2.1M 44. Goondiwindi Regional Council - $2.8M 45. Gympie Regional Council - $3.7M

46. Lockyer Valley Regional Council - $37.8M 47. Mackay Regional Council - $4.4M 48. Moreton Bay Regional Council - $2.8M 49. North Burnett Regional Council - $3.1M 50. Somerset Regional Council - $8.6M 51. South Burnett Regional Council - $25.9M 52. Tablelands Regional Council - $12.8M 53. Torres Shire Council - $64,900 54. Townsville City Council - $25.2M 55. Whitsunday Regional Council - $10M

Site map