Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Honours acknowledge outstanding service

Download PDFDownload PDF

Senator the Hon Christopher Evans

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations Leader of the Government in the Senate 13 June, 2011

Media release

Honours acknowledge outstanding service

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations, Senator Chris Evans, today congratulated Lisa Paul on her appointment as an officer of the Order of Australia.

As the head of the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations, Ms Paul has overseen the implementation of a wide range of policies and reforms.

“This honour acknowledges Lisa Paul’s professionalism and dedication during her outstanding career in the Australian public service,” Senator Evans said.

“Ms Paul led the transition from the former Department of Education, Science and Training to the current Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations.

“Under her stewardship, the new department has worked to ensure there are stronger links between our investment in education and employment outcomes for Australians.”

Senator Evans said Ms Paul embodies the very best of the public service.

“She has served successive governments and provided thoughtful, intelligent leadership which has enabled important reforms to be successfully implemented,” he said.

“Ms Paul thoroughly deserves this recognition for her outstanding contribution to the Australian public service.”

Senator Evans also paid tribute to Department Deputy Secretary of Workplace Relations, John Kovacic, who was awarded the Public Service Medal.

“This honour acknowledges Mr Kovacic’s leading role in the implementation of historic reforms to Australia’s workplace relations system,” Senator Evans said.

“For more than two decades, Mr Kovacic has worked in the field of industrial relations and his expertise and extensive knowledge is highly valued.”

Media Contact:

Non-media queries: 1300 363 079