Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
New appointments to CSIRO Board

Download PDFDownload PDF


10 Feb 2011

Innovation Minister Senator Kim Carr today announced the appointment of Mr Mark Paterson AO and Mr Hutch Ranck to the CSIRO Board. They replace outgoing board members Mr Douglas Rathbone AM and Ms Deborah O’Toole.

“Australians rely on the CSIRO to address some of our biggest problems, such as food security, climate change and renewable energy,” Senator Carr said.

“It is one of the largest research agencies in the world and a vital part of Australia’s innovation system. With such an important task, it is vital that the CSIRO is led by a dedicated team of world-class research, government and business leaders.

“As board members, Mr Paterson and Mr Ranck will build on the valuable contributions of Mr Rathbone and Ms O’Toole and help set the CSIRO’s agenda to address national and global research challenges.”

“I also welcome the continued service of Dr Eileen Doyle, who is a tremendous advocate of science and contributes strong commercial acumen to the CSIRO Board.

CSIRO Chairman Mr Simon McKeon also welcomed the appointments.

“The Board looks forward to working with Mr Paterson and Mr Ranck, who I am sure will help the organisation pursue its strategic goals,” Mr McKeon said.

"I would like to thank Ms O’Toole and Mr Rathbone for their service to the Board and to the CSIRO. Ms O’Toole has played a significant role over the past 8 years, including as Chair of the CSIRO Board Audit Committee."

Mr Paterson is Secretary of the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research and was previously Head of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry. He has held a number of board positions.

Mr Ranck was most recently the Group Managing Director, ASEAN for DuPont Limited. He has held leadership positions in the finance, chemicals and pharmaceuticals sectors. He has been a member of the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council and the Business Roundtable on Sustainable Development.

Biographical details for Mr Paterson, Mr Ranck and Dr Doyle are attached.

For more information on the CSIRO visit

For more information on the Gillard Labor Government’s support for science and research, visit