Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Disaster assistance for eighteen flood-affected shires in NSW

Download PDFDownload PDF

Hon. Robert McClelland MP Attorney-General

Attorney-General Media Release Page 1 of 1


Monday, 20 June 2011


Attorney-General Robert McClelland today announced four more Local Government Areas affected by last week’s flooding in New South Wales are now eligible for disaster assistance from the Australian Government.

Mr McClelland said assistance has been extended this evening to Singleton, Walcha, Armidale Dumaresq and Guyra Shire Councils after the NSW Government declared these areas natural disaster zones.

“A total of eighteen Local Government Areas are now receiving disaster assistance, which is jointly funded by the Commonwealth and NSW Governments through the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA),” he said.

“Assistance is available for individuals, businesses and primary producers including emergency payments for individuals and families affected by these floods, as well as assistance for primary producers and small business owners.

“The clean up in the Upper Hunter and Mid-North Coast regions is continuing as the water recedes. In many areas, the damage to public infrastructure such as roads has been significant.

“Assistance is also available for the repair of essential public infrastructure once thresholds are met. The Commonwealth will continue to work with the NSW Government to provide assistance to areas affected by these floods.”

NDRRA assistance is available in Coffs Harbour, Gloucester Shire, Cessnock, Muswellbrook, Glenn Innes-Severn, Greater Taree Shire, Port Stephens, Nambucca Shire, Dungog Shire, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Bellingen, Clarence Valley, Kempsey, Upper Hunter, Singleton, Walcha, Armidale Dumaresq and Guyra Shire Councils

Joint Commonwealth/State disaster assistance available includes:

 Personal hardship and distress grants to eligible individuals and families whose homes and essential household items have been damaged or destroyed. Enquiries should be directed to NSW Community Services, Disaster Welfare Services on 1800 018 444;

 Concessional interest rate loans of up to $130,000 for eligible small businesses and primary producers. Enquiries should be directed to the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593;  Concessional interest rate loans of up to $25,000 for voluntary, non-profit organisations. Enquiries should be directed to NSW Treasury on (02) 9228 5198;  Transport freight subsidies of up to 50 percent to assist primary producers for the carriage of

livestock and fodder. Enquiries should be directed to the Industry and Investment - NSW office on 1800 814 647; and  Restoration or replacement of essential public assets and certain counter disaster operations.

Contact: Ryan Liddell - 02 6277 7300 or 0427 225 763