Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Nominations for 2011 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

Download PDFDownload PDF



17 Feb 2011

Australian scientists are heroes. They inspire us to dream of a better world. They give us the tools to build it. The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science honour their contribution to the nation.

Opening the nominations, Innovation Minister Senator Kim Carr said the prizes were a fitting tribute to the important work done by scientists and science teachers.

“These prizes reward our top scientists for their achievements and recognise our science teachers for inspiring the next generation of science leaders,” Senator Carr said.

“I encourage all Australians to nominate a scientist or a teacher who has shown them the wonder and the power of science.”

Past winners have been recognised for their part in discoveries such as wireless LAN technology and the bionic ear, and for their achievements in areas like immunology, quantum technology and astronomy.

They include Professor John Shine AO, Professor John O’Sullivan, Professor Ian Frazer, Professor Graeme Clark AC, the late Professor Frank Fenner AC and Australia’s first female Nobel laureate, Professor Elizabeth Blackburn AC.

“Australians are rightly proud of their science history, and the reputation for excellence we have built on the international stage. I am sure we will once again see nominations flow from every corner of the country.”

Prizes are awarded in five categories:

• Prime Minister’s Prize for Science ($300,000); • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year ($50,000);

• Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year ($50,000); • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools ($50,000); and • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools


Nominations close on 13 May 2011. To nominate or for further information, visit