Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Disaster assistance for five more areas in flood affected NSW

Download PDFDownload PDF

Hon. Robert McClelland MP Attorney-General

Attorney-General Media Release Page 1 of 2


Friday, 17th June 2011


Attorney-General Robert McClelland today announced Australian Government disaster assistance is now available in fourteen Local Government Areas affected by severe flooding in New South Wales.

Mr McClelland said assistance has been extended this afternoon to Coffs Harbour, Gloucester Shire, Cessnock, Muswellbrook and Glenn Innes-Severn LGAs after the NSW Government declared these areas natural disaster zones

“Many people in these areas are now going through the process of cleaning up from this week’s floods,” Mr McClelland said.

“Disaster assistance is now available for individuals, businesses and primary producers in fourteen shires. This includes emergency payments for individuals and families affected by these floods, as well as assistance for primary producers and small business owners.

“Other areas eligible for assistance are the LGAs of Greater Taree Shire, Port Stephens, Nambucca Shire, Dungog Shire and Port Macquarie-Hastings, Bellingen, Clarence Valley, Kempsey and Upper Hunter.

“This assistance will be provided by the Commonwealth to the NSW Government through the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

“Conditions in the Hunter and Mid North Coast have eased with flood peaks passing and water levels expected to fall steadily in the next few days.

“The Commonwealth stands ready to provide further assistance to areas affected by these floods.”

Joint Commonwealth/State disaster assistance available includes:

 Personal hardship and distress grants to eligible individuals and families whose homes and essential household items have been damaged or destroyed. Enquiries should be directed to NSW Community Services, Disaster Welfare Services on 1800 018 444;

 Concessional interest rate loans of up to $130,000 for eligible small businesses and primary producers. Enquiries should be directed to the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593;

 Concessional interest rate loans of up to $25,000 for voluntary, non-profit organisations. Enquiries should be directed to NSW Treasury on (02) 9228 5198;  Transport freight subsidies of up to 50 percent to assist primary producers for the carriage of livestock and fodder. Enquiries should be directed to the Industry and Investment - NSW

office on 1800 814 647; and

Attorney-General Media Release Page 2 of 2

 Restoration or replacement of essential public assets and certain counter disaster operations.

Contact: Ryan Liddell - 02 6277 7300 or 0427 225 763