Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Per capita grants to independent schools

Download PDFDownload PDF






Statement by the Hon. Nigel Bowen,Q,C., M.P., Minister for Education and Science

The Minister for Education and Science, Mr Nigel Bowen, said today that cheques for the first half-yearly instalment under the new Commonwealth program of per capita grants to independent schools are being despatched this week. These payments are being made from advances provided by the Commonwealth to the States.

Mr Bowen said that the processing of late applications as well as applications from schools for the handicapped and other special schools had not yet been completed but it was expected that payments would be made to these schools within a few weeks.

In the case of the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory, grants would be paid to schools by the Department of Education and Science, also during this week.

Mr Bowen said that the total value of grants now being made for the half year approximates $12 million, divided between the States and Territories as follows :


Australian Capital Territory 189

New South Wales 4,392

• Northern Territory 25

Queensland 1,792

South Australia 754

Tasmania 284

Victoria 3,753

Western Australia 860


These payments cover more than 2,000 schools and 590,000 school children.

The grants are intended to assist schools with their running costs and must be spent for the benefit of the particular school for which a grant is made. Statements are being sent out with the cheques to make these conditions clear to schools.


Mr Bowen said that if any school needed any further information, either on its grant or on the conditions governing the grant, the school should contact the office of the Department of Education and Science in the capital city in the State or Territory concerned. The office addresses are :

Australian Capital . Phillip Offices, Territory Canberra

New South Wales La Salle Building,

Cnr. Castlereagh and King Streets, Sydney

Northern Territory 52 Mitchell Street,


Queensland 78-80 Eagle Street,


South Australia Red Cross House,

228 North Terrace, Adelaide

Tasmania Magnet Court,

Sandy Bay Road, Sandy Bay

Victoria 99 Queen Street,


Western Australia 12 Stirling Highway,


Department of Education and Science

19 February 1970