Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Board of Taxation appointments

Download PDFDownload PDF

THE HON WAYNE SWAN MP Deputy Prime Minister Treasurer

THE HON BILL SHORTEN MP Assistant Treasurer Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation



I am pleased to announce the appointments of

• Chris Jordan as Chairman of the Board of Taxation to 30 June 2013;

• Keith James as Deputy Chairman to 30 June 2012; and

• Teresa Dyson as member to 30 June 2013.

I am also pleased to announce the reappointments of John Emerson and Annabelle Chaplain as members of the Board from 1 July 2011 to 30 June 2013.

Mr Jordan is Chairman of KPMG New South Wales and was previously Partner in Charge of the New South Wales Tax and Legal Division of KPMG. He is the former Chairman of the New Tax System Advisory Board and was also the State Chairman of the New South Wales Division of the Taxation Institute of Australia. Mr Jordan has been a member of the Board since its inception in September 2000 and has been Acting Chairman since March 2011.

Mr James is a Partner at Hall & Wilcox Lawyers. He has served as Chairman of the Public Accountants Committee, Victorian President and National Councillor and Chairman of the Taxation Centre of Excellence for CPA Australia. Mr James was the accounting profession representative on the Commissioner of Taxation's Advisory Panel, his National Liaison

Committee and the Advisory Committee on the Taxpayers Charter. He was joint Chairman of the working party on the national review of standards of the tax profession and a member of the steering committee of the Pappas Carter Report reviewing the Tax Office's large case audit program. Mr James was appointed to the Board in March 2004.

Ms Dyson is a partner with Blake Dawson. She has most recently been acknowledged as a leading individual in tax by Chambers Global 2010. Ms Dyson has a significant charity and not-for-profit practice. She is actively involved in consultation about new legislation and administrative interpretation, particularly in relation to the taxation of financial arrangements, infrastructure and PPP developments, leasing and debt/equity rules.

Mr Emerson has been a partner in Freehills since 1976 and is widely recognised as a specialist in tax and other laws applicable to charities. He heads the firm's charity law practice. Mr Emerson was appointed to the Board in January 2007.

Ms Chaplain is an experienced company director and a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors. Ms Chaplain is currently Chairman of Honeycombes Property Group, a director of Downer Edi Ltd and Canstar Cannex Pty Ltd and a number of other private companies.

Mr Jordan, Mr James, Mr Emerson and Ms Chaplain have all made a valuable contribution to the work of the Board and are highly regarded within the business community. Their reappointments will ensure continuity of the Board’s current work program. The appointment of Ms Dyson will also help ensure the Board is able to maintain its current work program.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory body established to advise the Government on the development and implementation of taxation legislation and the ongoing operation of the tax system.


6 June 2011


Fergus Maguire (Treasurer) 0423 846 593

Shannon Walker (Assistant Treasurer) 0414 694 476