Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Extended drought support for Queensland's central coast EC region smaller farm industries.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Senator Ron Boswell National Party - Qld

Extended drought support for Queensland’s Central Coast EC region smaller farm industries

May 24th, 2006

Eligible farmers in some of the Queensland Central Coast region’s smaller industries will receive a two-month extension to the Exceptional Circumstances (EC) drought support.

Leader of The Nationals in the Senate, Queensland Senator Ron Boswell, said the decision will provide extended support for 23 farm families in less-recognised local industries such as aquaculture and cotton.

The Central Coast EC declared area extends from south of Rockhampton to north of Strathbogie and includes all or part of the Rockhampton City, Livingstone, Fitzroy, Duraringa (part), Broadsound, Nebo, Belyando (part) and Bowen Local Government Areas. The area excludes the Whitsunday, Mackay, Mirani and Sarina Local Government areas which are part of the Mackay EC region. (A map is attached)

“Those less-recognised industry farming families in these areas should check their eligibility with Centrelink,” Senator Boswell said.

“This two-month extension will bring these 23 families into line with the EC declaration covering farmers in the Central Coast’s bigger industries, such as cropping and cattle farming, which are due to end on 21 July 2006,” Senator Boswell said.

“Today’s announcement will enable the National Rural Advisory Council to undertake a full and comprehensive assessment of all the region’s industries”

“The two-month extension means eligible producers can apply immediately for an extension to their EC support.”

“I encourage farmers and their families not to self assess, but to contact Centrelink as soon as possible to check on their eligibility for assistance,” Senator Boswell said.

Farmers wishing to access EC Relief Payments should visit a Centrelink office, or call Centrelink’s National Drought Helpline on 13 23 16 to discuss their circumstances of contact QRAA on 1800 623 946 regarding EC Interest Rate Subsidies.