Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
122 Labor women now in Parliaments.

Download PDFDownload PDF

  Australian Labor Party   National ALP

Carmen Lawrence - 122 Labor Women Now In Parliaments Wednesday, 21 March 2001

122 Labor Women Now In Parliaments Carmen Lawrence - Shadow Minister for the Status of Women

Media Statement - 8 March 2001

Australian women today celebrate International Women's Day.

While women remain concerned about:

threats to the Sex Discrimination Act, ● cuts to health, education and child care, ● and the GST on baby products, breastfeeding and tampons, ●

the past year has seen the election of more Labor women to Parliaments which will begin to make a differences on all of these issues in the year ahead.

In Western Australia, the Labor Party saw an additional six women elected to Parliament and in Queensland an additional 15.

This brings the total number of Labor women in Parliaments to 122.

The 100th Labor women in a Parliament was elected just over a year ago, in February 2000. (Jo-Ann Miller, Qld by-election)

A table outlining the numbers and the changes since the ALP's rule on affirmative action was introduced in 1994 is below.

The Shadow Minister for the Status of Women, Dr Carmen Lawrence said, "The success of Labor women in state elections reflects the difference that the rule has made to preselections and the success of women in elections in the ALP.

"Even more significant is the number of women now being preselected for safe seats, with five of Labor's 20 safest federal seats now held by women, up from one prior to the last election and the passing of the affirmative action rule.


"I look forward to even more female colleagues joining me to form a Beazley Labor government later after the next election," Dr Lawrence said.

ALP Women In Australian Parliaments

*September 1994 (National Affirmative Action Rule introduced)


Women Sept 1994 Women Feb 2001 % Women

ACT Legislative Assembly 2 0 0

Commonwealth House of Representatives 10 17 25.37

Commonwealth Senate 5 9 31.03

NSW Legislative Assembly 6 11 21.82

NSW Legislative Council 5 4 25

NT Legislative Assembly 1 2 28.57

Queensland Legislative Assembly 9 27 40.9

South Australian House of Assembly 3 10 47.62

South Australian Legislative Assembly 3 2 25

Tasmanian House of Assembly 3 4 28.57

Tasmanian Legislative Council 0 1 20

Victorian Legislative Assembly 3 14 31

Victorian Legislative Council 4 8 58

WA Legislative Assembly 2 8 25

WA Legislative Council 6 5 38.4

TOTALS 62 122 29.75


Authorised by Geoff Walsh, 19 National Circuit, Barton ACT 2600.

Home | Action | News | Policy | People | About