Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Australian Government funding for local government in Hunter.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Senator the Hon.Sandy Macdonald Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Trade Deputy Leader of The Nationals in the Senate Australian Government Funding for Local Government in Hunter The Nationals Senator for NSW, Sandy Macdonald, said today that councils in the Hunter will receive Australian Government funding for 2005-2006 for local roads and the provision of other local government services. “These Local Government Financial Assistance Grants help councils to provide the high quality services that local communities need and expect of their local council,” Senator Macdonald said. “These grants are untied so councils can allocate the funds according to their local priorities.” “Funds are used by councils to provide a range of health, community, recreational, cultural and environmental services and to provide and maintain infrastructure such as roads.” “They are part of the ongoing assistance the Australian Government has provided to the local communities for the last 30 years.” Senator Macdonald said the Australian Government was aware of the importance of the grants approved to councils in New South Wales. “Nationally, the Australian Government will provide $1.617 billion in financial assistance grants to local government, in New South Wales councils receiving 32.1 per cent of the national total,” Senator Macdonald said. “The Australian Government has increased total financial assistance grants funding for councils for 2005-06 by $61.7 million and has increased funding to councils by around $450 million since the Coalition came to office in 1996.” The grants are paid under the Local Government (Financial Assistance) Act 1995, with the first quarterly payment expected on 15 August 2005. Attached is a summary of the amounts received by each Local Government in the Hunter electorate. Media Contact: Electorate Office (02) 6766 6998 Website: