Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Race rewards best young innovators.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


November 10, 2006

The Australian Minister for Vocational and Technical Education, the Hon Gary Hardgrave MP, last night awarded some of Australia’s best young innovators at the Re-Engineering Australia’s School Innovation Design Awards at Brisbane’s Technology Park.

Eleven school teams competed in the Schools Innovation Design Challenge - a high school competition with students applying practical skills to design, construct and race a model Formula 1 racing car from balsa wood, using the latest professional design technology.

The ‘Dasha The Eagle’ team from Laverton Secondary College in Melbourne was crowned senior champion and “Western Wyverns’ from Wesley College in Perth were victorious in the junior section.

Each of the school teams were judged across a range of criteria, from design and innovation to sourcing sponsorship and display presentation. Some of the cars reached speeds of over 160km/h.

“Australia’s innovative design future looks to be in good hands, based on the talent, design prowess and creativity displayed by the students involved,” Mr Hardgrave said.

“Having fun with technology while fostering excellence helps inspire and enthuse students when it comes to science and engineering-based subjects in their senior school years.”

The winners will represent Australia at the Australian Grand Prix F1 in Schools International finals in Melbourne next year and race against students from every continent. The Stingers, a team of Year 7 boys from Trinity Grammar in Melbourne are the reigning World Champions having claimed the title in England earlier this year.

“Organisations from industry, government and education have made this fantastic event possible and it’s this co-operation will help attract young people to this vital industry,” said Mr Hardgrave.


Trinity Grammar - Kew - Victoria Laverton Secondary College - Victoria Thursday Island State School - Queensland North Rockhampton State High School - Queensland Noosa State High School - Queensland Barker College - Sydney - New South Wales Trinity Grammar - Sydney - New South Wales

Media Centre Email this page Print this page

Brighton Secondary College - Adelaide - South Australia Charles Campbell Secondary School - Adelaide - South Australia Wesley College - Perth - Western Australia Christchurch Grammar - Perth - Western Australia

Minister Hardgrave’s Media Adviser: Nikki Voss 0402 896 100 Dept of Education, Science and Training: Media Unit 02 6240 7300

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement