Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Tasmanian scientist to help make better beer.

Download PDFDownload PDF


BACK You are here : Home : Media Releases : DAFF07/102A Last updated: 18 September 2007

Tasmanian scientist to help make better beer

Research into improving the flavour and aroma of hop has won a Tasmanian scientist a state prize at the 2007 Science and Innovation Awards for Young People in Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

Dr Robert Shellie is one of 17 winners nationally who will each receive up to $10,000 to undertake their pioneering projects.

Australian Minister for Fisheries, Forestry and Conservation, Senator Eric Abetz, today paid tribute to Dr Shellie, saying his project would provide lasting benefits to the hop and beer industry.

“Dr Shellie’s project seeks to identify the biological pathways that control flavour and aroma compounds in hop, made possible through recent advances in biotechnology and analytical chemistry,” Senator Abetz said.

“His research will provide a foundation for breeding programmes targeting specific flavour and aroma profiles that can be developed to create new hop varieties.

“It will provide opportunities for Australian hop growers and beer brewers alike to remain competitive in the global market.”

The Science and Innovataion Awards encourage the continued growth and development of our rural industries by providing national recognition to Australia’s leading young innovators.

The awards are supported by the Australian Government and 10 rural Research and Development Corporations (RDCs): Land & Water Australia, Fisheries RDC, Forest & Wood Products Australia, Cotton RDC, Sugar RDC, the Rural Industries RDC, Grape & Wine RDC, Grains RDC, Meat & Livestock Australia and Australian Pork Ltd.

The awards are coordinated by the Bureau of Rural Sciences (BRS) on behalf of the Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

For more information: Dr Michelle McGranahan, BRS, 02 6272 5039. For a full list of this year’s winners, and details of their projects, visit:

DAFF07/102A 18 September 2007

Further inquiries:

Senator Abetz’s office: Brad Stansfield 0419 884 666

© Commonwealth of Australia 2002-2007 | Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry | Other DAFF Ministers | Prime Minister