Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Beach Volleyball Centre for Excellence.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Beach Volleyball Centre for Excellence

A new Beach Volleyball National Centre of Excellence has been officially launched in Adelaide today in a bid to find the next Natalie Cook and Kerri Pottharst.

Federal Member for Boothby, Dr Andrew Southcott, launched the new Australian Institute of Sport/Australian Volleyball Federation National Centre of Excellence program on behalf of the Minister for the Arts and Sport, Senator Rod Kemp.

“Australia has a successful Olympic history in beach volleyball having won a bronze medal in the first Olympic competition in Atlanta in 1996,” Senator Kemp said.

“This new National Centre of Excellence program will enhance the preparation of our elite athletes and their ability to develop their skills to perform at the highest international level as part of the Federal Government’s continued investment in Australia’s sporting excellence.”

Dr Southcott said the AIS, as the pre-eminent elite sport training institution in Australia, has played a vital role in our international sporting success.

“The defining moment for the sport in Australia was at the 2000 Sydney Olympics. Playing before huge crowds at the Bondi Beach venue, Australian pair Natalie Cook and Kerri Pottharst won an historic gold medal,” Dr Southcott said.

AIS Director Professor Peter Fricker said the decision to start a beach volleyball program was a logical progression, considering previous Olympic success and the rising level of public interest and talented athletes in Australia.

“This national approach to the support and development of the sport at the elite end should secure a successful future for Australians in the sport internationally,” he added.

“Kerri and Natalie’s gold medal performance at the Sydney Olympics really put beach volleyball on the map in this country.

“This new program will see the best coaches and athletes train in one of the world’s best facilities supported by the very best sports science and sports medicine personnel that the AIS and SASI can provide.”

The Australian Government provides over $2.1 million annually to Australian Volleyball.

A list of the AIS/AVF scholarship holders is attached.


14 December 2005


Michael Christo, Minister’s Office 02 62777350 or 0409 040276 David Packwood, AIS Media 02 62141476 or 0409 040276 John Deller, Dr Southcott’s Office 08 8374 0511 or 0439 883 385


2006 AIS/AVF Beach Volleyball Squad

Tamsin Barnett (VIC)

John Byron (SA)

Natalie Cook (QLD)

Kylie Gerlic (SA)

Andrew Schacht (SA)

Stacey Kloeden (SA)

Summer Lochowicz (QLD)

Allister Lyne (SA)

Travis Moran (SA)

Nicole Sanderson (QLD)

Joshua Slack (SA)

Martin Suan (WA)

Head Coach: Steve Tutton

Assistant Coaches: Carlos Galetti / Craig Marshall