Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Commonwealth Child Care Advisory Council.

Download WordDownload Word



The Hon Warwick Smith MP

Minister for Family Services

Federal Member for Bass


Media Release



10 March 1998




Family Services Minister, Warwick Smith, today announced a major strengthening of the Government's commitment to families with the establishment of the Commonwealth Child Care Advisory Council.


Mr Smith said the Council will provide advice on the strategic policy directions, research and reform of the Government's child care responsibilities, with a primary focus on improved outcomes for families and industry efficiencies


"The Council will undertake a variety of tasks, including a major review of child care charging practices, as announced in the 1997 Budget," Mr Smith said. "It will also review the Quality Improvement Accreditation System for child care centres, in conjunction with the child care industry."


Mr Smith said the Government is committed to the review of charging practices.


"Given the complexities of the child care system, the review will need to examine the implications of any reform on service viability and affordability for families," Mr Smith said.


The review of the Quality Improvement and Accreditation System will look at the System's 52 principles of good quality care, the costs of both administering and using the System, and at streamlining the process towards achieving accreditation, making it easier for centres to participate.


In undertaking the reviews, the Council will consult widely with private and community-based service providers, and with State and Territory governments. Parents will also be encouraged to provide input.


"Members of the Council have been chosen to provide input based on their particular areas of expertise, not to represent particular organisations or sectors," Mr Smith said. "I am particularly pleased Ms Patrice Marriott has accepted the position of Council Chairman."


Members of the Council have been appointed for a three-year term. It is proposed the Inaugural Council meeting will take place in early April. A full list of the Council Members is attached.


Contact: John Hewitt: (02) 6277 7240. Mobile: (0412) 437 317.








* Ms Patrice Mamott (VIC) : Non-executive director/chair specialising in

health and energy. An Arts/Law graduate of the University of Melbourne who gained

her Master of Laws from Monash University in 1984, and graduated from the London

Business School, Senior Management Executive Programme in 1986. Ms Marriott has

extensive experience as a consultant, particularly with respect to private and public

sector reform. Ms Marriott has also worked as an adviser to a number of major

Australian companies. She is active on a number of boards, including Southern

HealthCare Network and also serves as the Chair of the Ministerial Advisory

Committee for Hearing Services. She is also co-ordinator, Pastoral Care Department,

Royal Women's Hospital, Melbourne.




* Ms Judith Atkinson (SA):  owner - operator of child care centres.


* Mrs Maude Bonshore (WA):  Aboriginal health and education practitioner;


* Mrs Catherine Burr (TAS):  community worker and child care centre parent.


* Ms Carolyn Collins (NSW):  management consultant - human resources and child care


* Ms Jo Comans (NSW):  family day care worker/co-ordinator/diretor/parent


* Ms Patricia Faulkner (VIC):  director and partner of management consultancy.


* Professor Alan Hayes (NSW):  professor of early childhood studies and developmental



* Mr Martin Kemp (QLD):  owner-operator of long day child care centres.


* Ms Christine Mead (SA):  barrister specialising in family law.


* Ms Robyn Monro Miller (NSW):  outside school hours care consultant and trainer.


* Mrs Susan Pamplin (TAS):  owner and director of a child care centre.


* Ms Denise Swift (ACT):  representative - Dept. of Health & Family Services.


* Mr John Tainton (QLD):  specialist in early childhood education.


* Ms Sus an Whitaker (QLD):  community / early childhood consultant/ director.