Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Kane Mason an inspiration to his people.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission

Media Releases

Kane Mason an Inspiration to his people


Statement on behalf of the ATSIC NSW Elected arm

Today the town of Goodooga has fare welled one of their local hero’s, Kane Mason. Hundreds of friends and family have paid their final respects to a young man who was an inspiration to all who met him.

On behalf of NSW ATSIC -ATSIS and the people we represent we would like to send our sincere and most heart felt condolences to the family, friends and love ones of Kane Mason.

Kane was a proud Aboriginal man who loved his country and his people and often returned to his home town of Goodooga to visit family and friends. Kane’s dedication to football and his love of sharing his skills with the youth of the town meant they always welcomed him back with open arms.

It is not often that you find everyone agreeing that one person could inspire so much in so many, but Kane Mason was that person. The tributes that people have given about Kane speak for themselves and have touched us all - Kane will not be forgotten.

ATSIC Eastern Zone Commissioner (Eastern Zone covers Macksville) Rick Griffiths said, “The tragedy of Kane’s young life, so full of promise and ambition, being cut short so senselessly reminds us that there is still much work to do in breaking down barriers, whether they are racial, economic, physical or other.

“Kane’s senseless death in the town of Macksville, on the NSW north coast, has highlighted other outstanding issues in the region, most specifically, three as yet unsolved deaths of Aboriginal people in the town of Bowraville approx 30kms from Macksville; the families of the Bowraville victims need closure.

“Therefore I call on the NSW Police Minister and the Premier to urgently visit this region.

“The people of the region need some resolution of these matters and I urge the Premier and Police Minister to work with us to that end ”.

NSW Zone Commissioners: Steve Gordon, Cliff Foley, Rick Griffiths; Chairpersons: Steve Blunden, Lyall Munro Snr, Robert Carroll, Maxine Conaty, Sam Jefferies, and Keith Morgan.

Media Inquires: Eastern Zone Commissioner Rick Griffiths: 0428406935 ATSIS media: Phillipa McDermott 0418467020