Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Submissions provide a vision for the future.

Download PDFDownload PDF


Media Release


Federal Science Minister Peter McGauran said today the National Research Priorities Taskforce had received more than 180 submissions as part of its community consultation process.

"There’s been an excellent response and many high quality submissions with great visions for Australia's future," Mr McGauran said.

"There are many opportunities to be explored in these submissions and I expect that the Expert Advisory Committee will have a challenging task ahead in assessing them."

The Expert Advisory Committee, chaired by Dr Jim Peacock, will develop a short list of national priorities at the thematic level for consideration by Government. These themes will reflect a desirable ‘Australia of the future’.

"The high quality of the submissions is a reflection of the successful consultative process that has fully involved the community in the setting of national priorities," Mr McGauran said.

In June 2002, the Consultative Panel, chaired by Dr Robin Batterham, undertook a series of public meetings around Australia and engaged in extensive discussions with the research community, business and industry, State and Territory Governments, universities and the wider community. The Panel

reported that there was strong support for the process to set national research priorities and a belief that the process would deliver significant benefits to Australia.

The written submissions nominating priorities closed on August 22 and they can be viewed on the National Research Priorities web site

Following the Federal Government's consideration of the short list, it is anticipated that the national research priorities will be announced in late-November.

For further information, contact Darren Chester (Mr McGauran’s office) on 02 62777440.

Copyright  |  Disclaimer  |  Privacy Statement