Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Disaster assistance extended in NSW following June's east coast storms and floods

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon M ichael Keenan MP Minister for Justice

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter Terrorism

The Hon Troy Grant MP NSW Deputy Premier Minister for Justice and Police


24 June 2016



Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and New South Wales Deputy Premier and Minister for Justice and Police Troy Grant today announced that disaster assistance has been extended in response to the recent devastating east coast storms and floods.

Minister Keenan said assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded C ommonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements ( NDRRA) for an


dditional four NSW communities, including Ballina, Kempsey, Nambucca and Port Stephens following the wild weather that occurred from June 1.

“While the severe weather is finally behind us, the impact is still being felt, including homes and businesses severely damaged and some communities still recovering from severe floodwaters,” Mr Keenan said.

Mr Grant said very sadly, two people lost their lives in the NSW storms and floods and our thoug hts remain with their loved ones.

“I encourage all eligible affected residents and businesses to contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line or the NSW Rural Assistance Authority to access this assistance,” Mr Grant said.

This NDRRA assistance has now been activated for a total of 41 NSW local government areas, including: Ballina, Bega, Blacktown, Byron, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Central Coast, City of Sydney, Coffs Harbour, Eurobodalla, Fairfield, Hornsby, Inner West, Kempsey, Kiama, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Lismore, Liverpool, Maitland, Nambucca, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Port Stephens, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Randwick, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, The Hills, Tweed, Waverley, Willoughby, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly, Wollongong and Woollahra.

This assistance includes:

 assistance to help eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged, and who meet an assets and income test;

 assistance to help councils in the affected local government areas with the costs associated with cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;


 concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and not-for-profit organisations; freight subsidies for primary producers; and

 grants to not-for-profit organisations.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444. To apply for a concessional loan, grant or freight subsidy, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit

Information on this disaster assistance is available at and

Media contacts: Shannen Wilkinson 0476 820 816 (Minister Keenan) Tess Salmon 0467 740 017 (Deputy Premier Grant)