Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    
Tuesday, 17 October 1972
Page: 1587

Senator GREENWOOD - On 10th October Senator Hannan asked a question about the Commonwealth Literary Fund. The Minister for the Environment, Aborigines and the Arts has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

The Commonwealth Literary Fund is administered by a Committee comprising the Prime Minister (Chairman), for whom the Minister for the Environment, Aborigines and the Arts acts, Mr P. E. Lucock, C.B.E., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Mr E. G. Whitlam, Leader of the Opposition.

On all literary matters the Committee is advised by an Advisory Board of 7 experts in various fields of literature. At present they are:

Professor G. Blainey, historian and Professor of Economic History, University of Melbourne (Chairman).

Mr G.Dutton, poet, biographer and critic, Adelaide.

Mr F.Eyre, writer and Australian manager, Oxford University Press, Melbourne.

Professor A. D. Hope, O.B.E., poet and critic, Canberra.

Mr H.G. Kippax, Associate Editor, 'Sydney Morning Herald' and drama critic, Sydney.

Mr D.Stewart. O.B.E., poet and critic, Sydney.

Miss Kylie Tennant, novelist and critic, Sydney.

The purpose of the Commonwealth Literary Fund is to foster Australian literature and, in particular, to finance:

(a)   Fellowships to enable Australian writers of merit to devote their time to literary work;

(b)   assistance to publishers for the publication of Australian manuscripts considered to be of outstanding literary merit;

(c)   assistance to publish Australian literary magazines;

(d)   pensions to Australian writers in recognition of their contribution to Australian literature: and

(e)   assistance to other projects which will encourage the production of works of literary merit and recognise Australian writing.

Applications for the 1973 Fellowships closed on 31st July. They are at present under consideration and should be announced late this month.

It would of course be open to Mr Calwell to apply for a Fellowship next year. However Fellowships are not awarded for published works. Their purpose is to give writers the opportunity to devote themselves full-time to writing for the period of the Fellowship.

The general conditions governing the award of a Fellowship are:

(1)   that the recipient must not engage in other full-time activities during the period of the Fellowship (there is no objection to engagement in minor or irregular activities but details are to be supplied);

(2)   that quarterly reports should be furnished on progress with the project;

(3)   that the continuance of support under the Fellowship is contingent on the quarterly reports being satisfactory;

(4)   that at the completion of the Fellowship a copy of the work carried out during the period for which the award was made is submitted to the Fund for permanent retention.

Suggest corrections