Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 10 October 1972
Page: 1393

Senator WILLESEE asked the Minister representing the Treasurer, upon notice:

Does the Government intend to continue with the inquiry into income tax; if so, when does the Treasurer expect to be able to announce the names of the other members of the committee of inquiry to be chaired by Mr Justice Asprey.

Senator COTTON-The Acting Treasurer has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

On 10th September 1972 the Treasurer announced the names of the members of the Committee of Inquiry into the taxation system. In addition to the Chairman, Mr Justice Asprey, the members of the Committee are:

Mr DavidMiles Bensuran Butt, M.A. (Cantab.), Professorial fellow in Economics in the Research School of Pacific Studies at the Australian National University.

Sir PeterLloyd, M.A. (Oxon), formerly Chairman of Cadbury, Fry, Pascall Australia Ltd,and presently a member of the board of the Commonwealth Banking Corporation, and the A.M.P. Society,

Professor Ross Waite Parsons, B.A., LL.B. (Sydney) Professor of Law at Sydney University.

Mr KennethWood, F.C.A., until recently a partner in the firm of Cooper Brothers, Chartered Accountants.

Now that the Committee has been appointed it is expected that it will begin its investigations without delay.

Suggest corrections