Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 10 May 1972
Page: 1554

Senator Douglas McClelland (NEW SOUTH WALES) asked the Minister representing the PostmasterGeneral, upon notice:

In respect of the electorates of (a) Mitchell (b) Farrer (c) Hume (d) Macarthur (e) Paterson (f) Calare (g) Gwydir (h) New England (i) Lyne (j) Cowper and (k) Richmond -

(1)   Which non-official post offices have been closed in the last 12 months.

(2)   How many more non-official post offices will be closed by 31st December 1972, and where are they located.

(3)   How many official post offices have been downgraded in the last 12 months.

Senator GREENWOOD (VictoriaAttorneyGeneral) The PostmasterGeneral has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

(1)   Non-Official Post Offices closed during the 15 months period from the 1st January, 1971, to the 31st March, 1972, showing in brackets after the name of each office the approximate average daily sales of postage stamps for the last complete financial year before the office was closed:

(a)   Mitchell Electorate- Richmond East ($2.84), Glossodia ($1.22).

(b)   Farrer Electorate - Verandah Camp (80c), South Corowa (30c), Urangeline East (47c), Talmalmo (16c).

(c)   Hume Electorate- Young South ($1.36), Kangiara (52c), Westville (28c), Holmwood (43c), Cowra South ($2.09), Cowra North ($2.08), Noonbinna (80c), Junee Reefs (30c), Yass North ($2.31), Peelwood (84c), Wondalga (8c), Tumorrama (51c).

(d)   Macarthur Electorate - Foxground (31c), Toolijooa (37c), Yallah (39c), Dapto South ($5.50), Wollondilly (27c), Welby ($2.11), Barrallier (12c), Burradoo (10c), Werombi (90c), Couridjah (14c), Meroo Meadow (39c), Pyree (74c), Woodhill (90c).

(e)   Paterson Electorate - Borambil (58c), Lostock ($3.13), Millers Forrest (89c), Warrah Creek (36c), Colley Blue ($1.17).

(i)   Lyne Electorate - Tom's Creek (23c), Wang Clergate (63c), Mullion Creek (95c), Arthurville (10c), Kadungle (51c), Nelungaloo (93c).

(g)   Gwydir Electorate- Gular Rail (23c), Minore (29c), Little Plain (41c), Gum Flat (45c), Milguy (76c), Cuttabri (21c), Upper Bingara (50c). (h.) New England Electorate - Copeton (27c), East Tamworth ($4.42), Stannum (56c).

(1)   Lyne Electorate- Tom's Creek (23c) Wang Wauk (30c), Ellenborough (28c), Central Lansdowne (33c), Langley Vale (50c).

(j)   Cowper Electorate - -Briggsvale (51c) Crossmaglen (57c), Lower Bucca (76c), Megan (58c), Moleton (17c), Timmsvale (24c), Woodford Dale (46c), Woodford Leigh (51c), Nana Glen Railway ($1.23), Hewetsons Mill (16c), Missabotti (16c).

(k)   Richmond Electorate - Toonumbar Dam ($3.50), Cudgera Creek (36c), Ruthven (39c), Cabbage Tree Island (42c), Tintenbar (57c), The Risk (47c), Tuncester (62c), Rukenvale (75c), Lismore Hospital Hill ($3.05), McKees Hill (88c), Pimlico (40c), Coombell (20c), Corndale (17c), Woodview (50c).

Where residents were obtaining their mail through the post office, appropriate arrangements to continue getting mail to these people have been made.

(2)   During April, Bretti Post Office was changed to a Telephone Office as this is the only type of business the office was being used for. Wylie Creek will be closed on the 8th May 1972, as the Postmaster has resigned and no other person is willing to conduct the office. The telephone subscribers will be connected to another exchange and mail will be delivered by mailman. Postage stamp sales average only about 80 cents a day and very little other postal business is being done. Although a firm date has not yet been fixed, Marom Creek will be closed when the automatic telephone exchange is brought into operation as tile residual postal work is very small and alternative mail delivery arrangements can be made. Postage stamp sales average only 24 cent daily. No other post offices in these electorates are programmed to close during 1972.

(3)   Official Post Offices which have been changed to non-official method of operation during the period 1st January 1971 to 31st March 1972.

Suggest corrections