Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 11 April 1973
Page: 1364

Mr Lynch asked the Minister representing the Minister for Primary Industry, upon notice:

(1)   Which countries are members of the International Whaling Commission.

(2)   When is the next conference of the Commission.

(3)   Does the Government acknowledge that there should be a 10 year moratorium on commercial whaling.

(4)   If so, what action has the Government taken to achieve such a moratorium.

(5)   If not, does the Government agree with the present arrangements adopted by the Commission.

Dr Patterson - The Minister for Primary Industry has provided the following answer to the honourable member's question:

(1)   Argentina, Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Panama, South Africa, United Kingdom, U.S.A. and U.S.S.R.

(2)   25-29 June 1973.

(3)   No. The Government supports the International Whaling Commission's total prohibition on the taking of white, gray, blue and humpback whales and the imposition of catch quotas for other species to provide a maximum sustainable yield.

(4)   See the answer to (3) above.

(5)   The Government will continue to support the Whaling Commission's whale conservation program and provide an officer to participate in the International Observer Scheme to ensure that other countries adhere to these programs.

Suggest corrections