Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 27 February 1973
Page: 5

The Clerk laid on the table returns to 125 writs for the election of members of the House of Representatives held on 2nd December 1972.

The Deputy of the Governor-General - When last I administered the oath and affirmation to honourable members the practice was followed in which members recited their names and the terms of the oath together, some 10 at a time. It seemed to me that that resulted in some discordant sounds which ill befitted the dignity of the occasion. I think it fit on this occasion to administer the oath and affirmation in different but yet proper and lawful manner. The Clerk will present the oath or affirmation, as the case may be, to the members who have been called to the table by name. The Clerk having presented the oath by reading its terms to the members, the members will simply say 'I do'. In the case of those taking the oath they will repeat the words 'So help me God'. In the case of those affirming, they will simply say 'I do'. I think it might be agreed that this will better befit the dignity of the House.

The following honourable members made and subscribed the oath of allegiance:

Adermann, Albert Evan, Fisher, Queensland

Anthony, John Douglas, Richmond, New South Wales

Armitage, John Lindsay, Chifley, New South Wales

Ashley-Brown, Alfred, Mitchell, New South Wales

Barnard, Lance Herbert, Bass, Tasmania

Beazley, Kim Edward, Fremantle, Western Australia

Bennett, Adrian Frank, Swan, Western Australia

Berinson, Joseph Max, Perth, Western Australia

Birrell, Frederick Ronald, Port Adelaide, South Australia

Bonnett, Robert Noel, Herbert, Queensland

Bourchier, John William, Bendigo, Victoria

Bowen, Lionel Frost, Kingsford-Smith, New South Wales

Bowen, Nigel Hubert, Parramatta, New South Wales

Bryant, Gordon Munro, Wills, Victoria

Bury, Leslie Harry Ernest, Wentworth, New South Wales

Calder, Stephen Edward, Northern Territory

Cameron, Clyde Robert, Hindmarsh, South Australia

Cameron, Donald Milner, Griffith, Queensland

Chipp, Donald Leslie, Hotham, Victoria

Cohen, Barry, Robertson, New South Wales

Collard, Frederick Walter, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia

Connor, Reginald Francis Xavier, Cunningham, New South Wales

Cooke, Nelson Marshall, Petrie, Queensland

Cope, James Francis, Sydney, New South Wales

Corbett, James, Maranoa, Queensland

Cramer, Sir John Oscar, Bennelong, New South Wales

Crean, Frank, Melbourne Ports, Victoria

Daly, Frederick Michael, Grayndler, New South Wales

Davies, Ronald, Braddon, Tasmania

Doyle, Francis Edward, Lilley, Queensland

Drummond, Peter Hertford, Forrest, Western Australia

Drury, Edward Nigel, Ryan, Queensland

Duthie, Gilbert William Arthur, Wilmot, Tasmania

Edwards, Harold Raymond, Berowra, New South Wales

England, John Armstrong, Calare, New South Wales

Erwin, George Dudley, Ballaarat, Victoria

Fairbairn, David Eric, Farrer, New South Wales

Fisher, Peter Stanley, Mallee, Victoria

Fitzpatrick, John, Darling, New South Wales

Forbes, Alexander . ies, Barker, South Australia

Fox, Edmund Maxwell Cameron, Henty, Victoria

Fraser, John Malcolm, Wannon, Victoria

Fulton, William John, Leichhardt,


Garland, Ransley Victor, Curtin, Western Australia

Garrick, Horace James, Batman, Victoria

Giles, Geoffrey O'Halloran, Angas, South Australia

Gorton, John Grey, Higgins, Victoria

Graham, Bruce William, North Sydney, New South Wales

Grassby, Albert Jaime, Riverina, New South Wales

Hallett, John Mead, Canning, Western Australia

Hamer, David John, Isaacs, Victoria

Hansen, Brendan Percival, Wide Bay, Queensland

Hayden, William George, Oxley, Queensland

Hewson, Henry Arthur, McMillan, Victoria

Holten, Rendle McNeilage, Indi, Victoria

Hunt, Ralph James Dunnet, Gwydir, New South Wales

Hurford, Christopher John, Adelaide, South Australia

Innes, Urquhart Edward, Melbourne, Victoria

Jacobi, Ralph Hawker, South Australia

James, Albert William, Hunter, New South Wales

Jarman, Alan William, Deakin, Victoria

Jenkins, Henry Alfred, Scullin, Victoria

Johnson, Leonard Keith, Burke, Victoria

Johnson, Leslie Royston, Hughes, New South Wales

Jones, Charles Keith, Newcastle, New South Wales

Katter, Robert Cummin, Kennedy, Queensland

Keating, Paul John, Blaxland, New South Wales

Kelly, Charles Robert, Wakefield, South Australia

Keogh, Leonard Joseph, Bowman, Queensland

Kerin, John Charles, Macarthur, New South Wales

Killen, Denis James, Moreton, Queensland

King, Robert Shannon, Wimmera, Victoria

Lloyd, Bruce, Murray, Victoria

Luchetti, Anthony Sylvester, Macquarie, New South Wales

Lucock, Philip Ernest, Lyne, New South Wales

Lynch, Phillip Reginald, Flinders, Victoria

MacKellar, Michael John Randal, Warringah, New South Wales

Maisey, Donald William, Moore, Western Australia

Martin, Vincent Joseph, Banks, New South Wales

McKenzie, David Charles, Diamond Valley, Victoria

McLeay, John Elden, Boothby, South Australia

McMahon, William, Lowe, New South Wales

McVeigh, Daniel Thomas, Darling Downs, Queensland

Morris, Peter Frederick, Shortland, New South Wales

Morrison. William Lawrence, St George, New South Wales

Mulder, Allan William, Evans, New South Wales

Nicholls, Martin Henry, Bonython, South Australia

Nixon, Peter James, Gippsland, Victoria

O'Keefe, Frank Lionel, Paterson, New South Wales

Oldmeadow, Maxwell Wilkinson, Holt, Victoria

Olley, Frank, Hume, New South Wales

Patterson, Rex Alan, Dawson, Queensland

Peacock, Andrew Sharp, Kooyong, Victoria

Reynolds, Leonard James, Barton, New South Wales

Riordan, Joseph Martin, Phillip, New South Wales

Robinson, Eric Laidlaw, McPherson, Queensland

Robinson, Ian Louis, Cowper, New South Wales

Scholes, Gordon Glen Denton, Corio, Victoria

Sherry, Raymond Henry, Franklin, Tasmania

Sinclair, Ian McCahon, New England, New South Wales

Snedden, Billy Mackie, Bruce, Victoria

Staley, Anthony Allan, Chisholm, Victoria

Stewart, Francis Eugene, Lang, New South Wales

Street, Anthony Austin, Corangamite, Victoria

Thorburn, Ray William, Cook, New South Wales

Turner, Henry Basil, Bradfield, New South Wales

Viner, Robert Ian. Slirling, Western Australia

Wentworth, William Charles, Mackellar, New South Wales

Whan, Robert Bruce, Eden-Monaro, New South Wales

Whitlam, Edward Gough, Werriwa, New South Wales

Whittorn, Raymond Harold, Balaclava, Victoria

Wilson, Ian Bonython Cameron, Sturt, South Australia

The following honourable members made and subscribed an affirmation of allegiance:

Cairns, James Ford, Lalor, Victoria

Cass, Moses Henry, Maribyrnong, Victoria

Coates, John, Denison, Tasmania

Enderby, Keppel Earl, Australian Capital Territory

Everingham, Douglas Nixon, Capricornia, Queensland

Gun, Richard Townsend, Kingston, South Australia

Klugman, Richard Emanuel, Prospect, New South Wales

Lamb, Antony Hamilton, La Trobe, Victoria

Mathews, Charles Race Thorson, Casey, Victoria

Uren, Thomas, Reid, New South Wales

Wallis, Laurie George, Grey, South Australia

Willis, Ralph, Gellibrand, Victoria



Suggest corrections