BRODTMANN, Gai MarieBiography for BRODTMANN, Gai Marie

Member for Canberra (ACT)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.10.10 to 9.5.16.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; National Capital and External Territories from 25.10.10 to 9.5.16 and from 15.9.16; Parliamentary Library from 2.12.13 to 9.5.16 (Joint Chair from 11.12.13 to 9.5.16); Public Accounts and Audit from 15.9.16; National Broadband Network from 10.10.16.

Joint Select: Gambling Reform from 14.3.12 to 24.6.13; DisabilityCare Australia from 19.6.13 to 5.8.13.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Cyber Security and Defence from 23.07.16.

Party Positions

Various ACT ALP campaign, administrative and executive positions 1992-2009.

Chair, ALP National Policy Committee 2011.

Other Positions

Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Member, Cultural Facilities Corporation 2000-04.

Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Member, ACTTAB 2002-09.

Director, National Press Club 2003-04.

Volunteer director, Gift of Life 2007-10.

Volunteer director, Our Wellness Foundation 2008-10.


Born 24.11.1963, Melbourne, Vic.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA (ANU), BPR (RMIT), Grad Cert Bus (Monash).

Federal public servant and media adviser 1990-2000.

Small business owner 2000-10.


Description: inner metropolitan.

Location: southern Canberra and outskirts; it includes the suburbs of Deakin, Forrest, Parkes, Red Hill and Yarralumla, extending to Tuggeranong, Weston Creek and Woden Valley, and the outlying rural areas of Tharwa and Tidbinbilla. It also includes those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol.

Area: 2 002 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 143 231 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: retail and service industries, government and administration, agriculture, light industry and tourism.

Territory electorates: Canberra includes the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly electorate of Brindabella and parts of Molonglo.

Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document