BUTLER, Terri MeganBiography for BUTLER, Terri Megan

Member for Griffith (Qld)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Griffith, Queensland, at by-election 8.2.2014 vice the Hon. KM Rudd (resigned). Re-elected 2016.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 18.3.14 to 9.5.16; Tax and Revenue from 18.3.14 to 9.5.16 and from 15.9.16; Employment, Education and Training from 15.9.16; Procedure from 15.9.16.

Joint Standing: Corporations and Financial Services from 15.9.16.

Joint Select: Australia Fund Establishment from 2.10.14 to 25.6.15; Trade and Investment Growth from 22.10.15 to 9.5.16.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition from 13.10.15 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Child Safety and Prevention of Family Violence from 13.10.15 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Preventing Family Violence from 23.07.16 to 28.6.18.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Universities from 23.07.16.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Equality from 23.07.16.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Young Australians and Youth Affairs from 28.6.18.

Party Positions

Delegate, Brisbane Federal Electorate Council.

Delegate, Moreton Federal Electorate Council.

President, Moreton Federal Electorate Council.

Secretary, ALP Yeronga Branch.

Delegate, ALP State Conference (Qld) from 2003.

Delegate, ALP National Conference from 2004.

Member, ALP National Policy Committee (later National Policy Forum) from 2008.

Member, ALP Rules Committee (Qld)(later Chair).

Member, ALP State Administrative Committee (Qld) from 2011.


Born 28.11.1977, Cairns, Qld.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA, LLB(Hons)(QUT).

Organiser 1999.

Communications officer 2000.

Articled clerk 2000-03.

Lawyer 2003-14.


Description: outer metropolitan.

Location: eastern Brisbane; it includes the suburbs of Balmoral, Bulimba, Camp Hill, Carina Heights, Coorparoo, Dutton Park, East Brisbane, Greenslopes, Highgate Hill, Hawthorne, Kangaroo Point, Morningside, Norman Park, Seven Hills, South Brisbane, Woolloongabba and parts of Annerley, Cannon Hill, Carina, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Mount Gravatt East, Murarrie, Tarragindi and West End.

Area: 60 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 105 828 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: food processing and light industry.

Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document