Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
HAYS, the Hon. Herbert Ephraim DigbyBiography for HAYS, the Hon. Herbert Ephraim Digby

Senator for (Tas)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

State: Elected to the Tasmanian House of Assembly for Wilmot, 1911. Defeated at general elections 1922.

Federal: Elected to the Senate for Tasmania 1922. Re-elected 1928, 1934 and 1940. Defeated at general elections 1946.

Parliamentary Appointments

Member, Royal Commission on The Moving Picture Industry in Australia from 1927 to 1928

Parliamentary Positions

Chairman of Committees from 01.09.1932 to 23.09.1935

Temporary Chairman of Committees from 1941 to 30.06.1947

Committee Service

Senate Standing: Standing Orders from 28.3.1924 to 1.1.1947; Printing from 10.12.1929 to 14.9.1932; Regulations and Ordinances from 17.11.1938 to 30.6.1947; Broadcasting from 3.9.1942 to 7.7.1943; Broadcasting from 14.9.1944 to 30.6.1947.

Senate Select: Case of J. T Dunk from 4.9.1924 to 1.1.1924; Beam Wireless Charges, Australia to England from 21.2.1929 to 1.1.1929; Advisability or Otherwise of Establishing Standing Committees of the Senate from 5.12.1929 to 1.1.1930.

Joint Standing: Rural Industries from 3.7.1941 to 7.7.1943.

Joint Select: Moving Picture Industry from 15.3.1927 to 1.1.1927.

Party Positions

Member, council of the Nationalist Party in Tasmania

Founding Member, Tasmanian Liberal League in 1909

Other Positions

Member, Mersey Marine Board (Devonport) from 1907 to 1935


Born 20.9.1869, Forth, Australia

Died 16.2.1960, Devonport


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament


Local Government Service

Elected to the Tasmanian House of Assembly for Wilmot, 1911. Defeated at general elections 1922.

Honorary Minister from 15.4.1916 to 28.6.1922.


Appointed Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, 01.01.1951