Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
CHESTER, the Hon. Darren JeffreyBiography for CHESTER, the Hon. Darren Jeffrey

Member for Gippsland (Vic)

The Nationals

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Gippsland, Victoria at by-election 2008, vice Hon. P McGauran (resigned). Re-elected 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019.

Acting Ministries

Acting Minister for Regional Development from 27.10.2017 to 20.12.2017.

Acting Minister for Local Government and Territories from 27.10.2017 to 20.12.2017.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence from 18.9.2013 to 21.9.2015.

Assistant Minister for Defence from 21.9.2015 to 18.2.2016.

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport from 18.2.2016 to 20.12.2017.

Cabinet Minister from 18.2.2016 to 20.12.2017.

Cabinet Minister from 5.3.2018 to 28.8.2018.

Minister for Veterans' Affairs from 5.3.2018.

Minister for Defence Personnel from 5.3.2018.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC from 5.3.2018 to 29.5.2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 26.8.2008 to 19.7.2010.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 6.2.2018.

House of Representatives Standing: Petitions from 26.8.2008 to 5.8.2013; Communications and the Arts from 6.2.2018.

House of Representatives Select: Regional Development and Decentralisation from 6.2.2018 (Chair from 8.2.2018 to 5.3.2018).

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Roads and Regional Transport from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.

Deputy Leader of the House from 18.2.2016 to 20.12.2017.

Deputy Leader of the House from 5.3.2018.

Party Positions

Councillor for the Nationals State Branch (Vic.) from 2002 to 2004.


Born 13.9.1967, Sale, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Newspaper and television journalist 1986-98

Self-employed marketing consultant 1998-2002

Executive Officer, Champions of the Bush 2002-04

Chief of Staff, PJ Ryan, MLA (Vic.) 2004-08


Location: eastern Victoria; it includes the towns of Bairnsdale, Churchill, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Morwell, Orbost, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford, Traralgon and Yarram.

Area: 33,054 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 104,088 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: beef, dairy, sheep and vegetable farming, cropping, sawmilling and forestry, fishing, tourism, oil, gas and electricity, correctional and defence services, including the RAAF Base at East Sale.

Electorate: Gippsland includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Gippsland East, and parts of Gippsland South and Morwell.