Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
IRONS, Stephen (Steve) JamesBiography for IRONS, Stephen (Steve) James

Member for Swan (WA)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Swan, Western Australia, 2007. Re-elected 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.2.15 to 9.5.16

Member, Speaker's Panel from 30.8.16

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister from 28.8.2018.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 12.2.2015 to 9.5.2016; Human Rights from 14.9.2016.

Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; National Disability Insurance Scheme from 19.3.2014 to 12.10.2015; Corporations and Financial Services from 14.9.2016 to 28.8.2018 (Chair from 14.9.2016 to 28.8.2018); Public Accounts and Audit from 14.9.2016 to 10.8.2017.

Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Local Government from 26.11.2012 to 13.3.2013; Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse from 5.2.2018.

House of Representatives Standing: Communications from 11.3.2008 to 4.6.2009; Education and Training from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Publications from 11.3.2008 to 5.8.2013; Health and Ageing from 10.11.2008 to 5.8.2013; Procedure from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Health from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 11.2.2014 to 9.5.2016); Tax and Revenue from 19.10.2015 to 9.5.2016; Procedure from 14.9.2016.

Party Positions

Vice-President, Liberal Party Swan Division

President, Liberal Party South Perth Branch


Born 1.9.1958, Melbourne, Australia.

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Company director

Road operator

Apprentice electrician


Description: Inner Metropolitan

Location: south-eastern Perth; it includes the suburbs of Ascot, Belmont, Burswood, Bentley, Cannington, Carlisle, Cloverdale, Como, East Cannington, East Victoria Park, Forrestfield (part), High Wycombe, Karawara, Kensington, Kewdale, Lathlain, Manning, Redcliffe, Rivervale, Perth Airport, Queens Park, Salter Point, South Guildford (part), South Perth, St James, Victoria Park, Waterford, Welshpool and Wilson.

Area: 134 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 97268 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: education, tourism, recreation, light industry, commercial, retail and transport.