Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
RAMSEY, Rowan EricBiography for RAMSEY, Rowan Eric

Member for Grey (SA)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Grey, South Australia, 2007. Re-elected 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 9.3.10 to 9.5.16

Committee Service

Joint Standing: Migration from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings from 14.9.2016 to 15.9.2016; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 14.9.2016; Parliamentary Library from 10.10.2016 (Chair from 10.10.2016).

House of Representatives Standing: Industry, Science and Innovation from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Employment and Workplace Relations from 10.11.2008 to 19.7.2010; Education and Employment from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Agriculture and Industry from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 9.12.2014 to 9.5.2016); Indigenous Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Communications and the Arts from 12.11.2015 to 9.5.2016; Agriculture and Water Resources from 14.9.2016; Appropriations and Administration from 14.9.2016; House from 14.9.2016.

House of Representatives Select: Regional Development and Decentralisation from 13.6.2017 to 28.6.2018; Intergenerational Welfare Dependence from 28.6.2018.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Government Whip from 30.8.2016.

Party Positions

Delegate, Liberal Party State Council (SA) from 1998

President, Liberal Party Kimba Branch 1999-2004

President, Liberal Party Grey Federal Electoral Council 2000-04

President, Liberal Party Giles State Electoral Council from 2005


Born 4.8.1956, Kimba, Australia.


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament


Chair, Eyre Peninsula Agricultural Research Foundation

Chair, Kimba District Hospital 1988-95

Chair, Eyre Peninsula Hospitals Association 1992-95


Description: Rural

Location: a large electorate covering most of rural South Australia apart from south-east corner; it includes the centres of Ceduna, Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Coober Pedy, Port Pirie, Kadina, Maitland, Orroroo, Peterborough, Burra and Eudunda.

Area: 904881 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 102059 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: lead smelting, steel industry, tourism, fishing, oil, gas, opals, iron ore, uranium, wheat, cattle, wool, forestry, salt, slate, aquaculture, copper and gypsum.