Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
ELLIS, the Hon. Katherine (Kate) MargaretBiography for ELLIS, the Hon. Katherine (Kate) Margaret

Member for Adelaide (SA)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Adelaide, South Australia, 2004. Re-elected 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. Retired prior to general elections 2019.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Youth from 3.12.2007 to 9.6.2009.

Minister for Sport from 3.12.2007 to 14.9.2010.

Minister for Early Childhood Education, Childcare and Youth from 9.6.2009 to 14.9.2010.

Minister for the Status of Women from 14.9.2010 to 14.12.2011.

Minister for Employment Participation and Childcare from 14.9.2010 to 14.12.2011.

Minister for Employment Participation from 14.12.2011 to 18.9.2013.

Minister for Early Childhood and Childcare from 14.12.2011 to 1.7.2013.

Minister for Early Childhood, Childcare and Youth from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Family and Human Services from 2.12.2004 to 17.10.2007; Education and Employment from 4.12.2013 to 27.2.2014.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Secretary of the Australian Labor Party Caucus Committee on Economics from 2004.

Shadow Minister for Education from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.

Shadow Minister for Early Childhood from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.

Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education and Development from 23.7.2016 to 24.10.2017.

Shadow Minister for TAFE and Vocational Education from 23.7.2016 to 24.10.2017.

Party Positions

Member of the Australian Labor Party National Policy Committee from 2005.


Born 22.9.1977, Melbourne, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Ministerial Adviser to the Hon. R McEwen, MHA (SA) from 2003 to 2004.

Ministerial Adviser to the Deputy Premier (SA), the Hon. K Foley, MHA, 2004.


Name: Adelaide

Location: central Adelaide; it includes the city of Adelaide and the suburbs of Ashford, Clarence Park, Enfield, Goodwood, Kent Town, Keswick, Kilburn, Maylands, North Adelaide, Northgate, Norwood, Parkside, Prospect, Rose Park, St Peters, Toorak Gardens, Unley and Walkerville.

Area: 76 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 109,217 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: markets, newspapers, military barracks, universities, brewery, bottlers, rail and bus terminals and Adelaide central business district.

Includes: Adelaide includes the South Australian House of Assembly electorate of Adelaide, and parts of Ashford, Bragg, Croydon, Dunstan, Enfield, Torrens, Unley and West Torrens.