Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
BOWEN, the Hon. Christopher EylesBiography for BOWEN, the Hon. Christopher Eyles

Member for McMahon (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Prospect, New South Wales, 2004. Re-elected 2007. Elected to the House of Representatives for McMahon, New South Wales, 2010, following electoral redistribution. Re-elected 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Treasurer from 3.12.2007 to 9.6.2009.

Minister for Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs from 3.12.2007 to 9.6.2009.

Minister for Financial Services, Superannuation and Corporate Law from 9.6.2009 to 14.9.2010.

Minister for Human Services from 9.6.2009 to 14.9.2010.

Cabinet Minister from 9.6.2009 to 25.3.2013.

Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 14.9.2010 to 4.2.2013.

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research from 4.2.2013 to 25.3.2013.

Minister for Small Business from 4.2.2013 to 25.3.2013.

Treasurer from 27.6.2013 to 18.9.2013.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 2.12.2004 to 17.10.2007.

House of Representatives Standing: Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 2.12.2004 to 7.12.2005; Economics from 14.5.2013 to 5.8.2013; Education and Employment from 14.5.2013 to 5.8.2013.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 10.12.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Shadow Assistant Treasurer from 10.12.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Shadow Minister for Revenue and Competition Policy from 10.12.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Acting Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Australian Labor Party from 13.9.2013 to 13.10.2013.

Acting Leader of the Opposition from 18.9.2013 to 13.10.2013.

Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 14.10.2013.

Shadow Treasurer from 18.10.2013.

Acting Shadow Minister for Small Business and Financial Services from 6.12.2017.

Shadow Minister for Small Business from 28.6.2018.

Party Positions

Member, ALP from 1988

Secretary, ALP Smithfield Branch 1991-2005

President, ALP Fairfield State Electorate Council 1992-2005

ALP Assistant General Returning Officer (NSW) 1993-2004


Born 17.1.1973, Sydney, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

B.Ec (Syd)

Research and media officer to the Hon JA Crosio, MP 1994-95

Industrial officer, Finance Sector Union 1995-2000

Senior adviser to the Hon. PC Scully, MLA (NSW) 2000-01

Chief of Staff for the Hon. PC Scully, MLA (NSW) 2001-04

Local Government Service

Councillor, Fairfield City Council from 1995 to 2004.

Mayor, Fairfield City Council from 1998 to 1999.

President, Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils from 1999 to 2001.


Description: Outer Metropolitan

Location: western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Canley Vale, Eastern Creek, Fairfield, Fairfield West, Guildford (part), Huntingwood, Kemps Creek, Merrylands, Minchinbury, Mount Vernon, Old Guildford, Orchard Hills, Pemulwuy, Smithfield, South Wentworthville, St Clair, Wetherill Park, Woodpark and Yennora.

Area: 168 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 106159 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: building and construction, light manufacturing, wholesale and retail, transport industry, agriculture and mixed farming.

Electorate: McMahon includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Cabramatta, Fairfield, Granville, Mulgoa and Prospect.