Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
BURKE, the Hon. Anthony (Tony) StephenBiography for BURKE, the Hon. Anthony (Tony) Stephen

Member for Watson (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

State: Elected to the New South Wales Legislative Council, 2003. Resigned 24.6.2004 to contest the House of Representatives division of Watson, New South Wales.

Federal: Elected to the House of Representatives for Watson, New South Wales, 2004. Re-elected 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 3.12.2007 to 14.9.2010.

Cabinet Minister from 3.12.2007 to 18.9.2013.

Minister for Population from 14.4.2010 to 28.6.2010.

Minister for Sustainable Population from 28.6.2010 to 14.9.2010.

Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities from 14.9.2010 to 1.7.2013.

Vice-President of the Executive Council from 5.3.2012 to 18.9.2013.

Minister for the Arts from 25.3.2013 to 18.9.2013.

Minister for Immigration, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.

Committee Service

Joint Standing: Migration from 6.9.2005 to 11.10.2005.

House of Representatives Standing: Employment, Workplace Relations and Workforce Participation from 2.12.2004 to 24.6.2005.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Minister for Small Business from 26.10.2004 to 24.6.2005.

Shadow Minister for Immigration from 24.6.2005 to 10.12.2006.

Shadow Minister for Immigration, Integration and Citizenship from 10.12.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Shadow Minister for Finance from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.

Manager of Opposition Business in the House of Representatives from 12.11.2013.

Shadow Minister for Environment and Water from 23.7.2016.

Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Australia from 23.7.2016.

Shadow Minister for the Arts from 23.7.2016.


Born 4.11.1969, Sydney, Australia.

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

B.A (Syd)

LL.B (Syd)

Sales and shop assistant 1982-91

Electorate officer to Senator GF Richardson 1993-94

Electorate officer to Senator MG Forshaw 1994-95

Director, Aticus Pty Ltd 1996-97

Union organiser, Shop Distributive and Allied Employees Association 1997-2003

Member, Legislative Council (NSW) 2003-04

Local Government Service

Elected to the New South Wales Legislative Council, 2003. Resigned 24.6.2004 to contest the House of Representatives division of Watson, New South Wales.

Legislative Council Representative on the Council of the University of Technology, Sydney from 7.5.2003 to 24.6.2004.

Temporary Chair of Committees from 7.5.2003 to 24.6.2004.


Description: Inner Metropolitan

Location: inner South Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Ashfield, Bankstown (part), Belfield, Belmore, Campsie, Canterbury (part), Chullora, Croydon Park, Enfield, Greenacre, Kingsgrove, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Punchbowl, Rookwood, Roselands and Strathfield South.

Area: 47 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 105422 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: light manufacturing and service industries.

Electorate: Watson includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Bankstown, Canterbury, Lakemba and Strathfield.